Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Jenna Ashleigh

Personal Details

Reference # 201-58792
Name Jenna Ashleigh
Nationality South African
Age 33
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Kia Picanto 1.0 2013.
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2005

Education

Secondary Education
Abbots College -2004
Tertiary Education
BBA degree, major in Communications, (3 year degree) -  Varsity college and Unisa- 2015
 First aid TrainingYes, Expires 2019

 

 

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingOctober 2009 until October 2016.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Three children twins age 8 and a boy 11 years old
What were your duties?
  • Responsibility and the taking care of three children.
  • To provide child care of an excellent standard.
  • Providing lifting to school, picking up and dropping off the children at school, outings, lifting to extra-activities, doctor’s appointments and play dates.
  • Shopping and errands.
  • Bathing of the child/children or running the bath for older children.
  • Teaching personal hygiene and cleanliness.
  • Assisting with homework, projects, research and teaching the child to study, preparing for exams.
  • Providing emotional support and guidance. 
  • Assisting in keeping the children’s rooms and play areas clean.
  • Preparation of snacks, lunch and dinner.
  • Keeping records of the days activities, meals served and to observe and monitor a child’s development for signs of emotional or developmental problems and bringing them to the parents attention.
  • Creation, management and implementation of a child’s schedule including planning age appropriate, stimulating recreational activities, eating times and sleeping times.
  • Organising sports and other motor-skills activities
  • Staying over with the children while the parents are away.
  • Caring for their pets [3 dogs, 3 cats].
  • House sitting on a regular basis.
  • Supervising staff and overseeing maintenance.
  • General home organisation.
  • Research transcriber
  

Reference 2:

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2015 to present
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Two children, a boy age 8 and a girl age 10.
What were your duties?
  • Responsibility and the taking care of their children
  • Preparing breakfast, lunch and dinner meals.
  • Homework supervision and reading.
  • Encouraging and taking part in stimulating activities.
  • Bedtime supervision.
  

Reference 4:

Reference 5:

Reference 6:

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since October 2009
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I was studying and wanted something while I was studying, I have enjoyed working with them and love being around children. Hence I have decided to continue working as an au pair.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?6 months old
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am going to gym, going to the beach, hiking etc.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?Interacting with, I enjoy being around them, love their energy and their enthusiasm for life.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Baking and cooking, go for outing, board games, building things, dressing up
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would assess the situation, if it is not life threatening I would attend to it and report exactly what happened to the parents. In the case of a life threatening emergency I would immediately call the relevant emergency contact and the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?When I first started the youngest girl  went through an adjustment period. She would have a lot of tantrums, I would ignore these and provide positive attention for positive behaviour this assisted her to adjust to me as a new au pair.
What is your approach to discipline?I would follow what the parents say. I would use time out and removal of privileges.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would try and talk to them. Try to calm the child down by providing a distraction.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Explain that this
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Sit down with them, I break it up into small bits of work, make it fun for them.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I prefer working with children aged 4 or 5 years old and up.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I still au pair for my previous employer.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?None
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Energetic, outgoing, reliable, trustworthy and hard working. I enjoy learning and doing things. 
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastHam, cheese and mushroom omelette
LunchChicken and mayo pitas with salad
DinnerRoasted lamb chops with baked potato and veggies
SnackHomemade snack bars & Fresh fruit
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I enjoy all forms of cooking and learning how to prepare all types of food.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My mom is an estate agent. I have two sisters and a brother.  My sister is a fashion designer, my younger sister also au pairs.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.