Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Michelle

Personal Details

Reference # 201-58600
Name Michelle
Nationality South African
Age 47
Gender Female
Marital Status Divorced
Languages English (1st) Afrikaans (1st) Basic French (conversational)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Yaris Spirit T3 2005
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes (3 full seat belts at the back)
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happened
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2000

Education

Have you completed matricYes
Where did you attend highschoolPro Arte High school in Pretoria (1990)
What was your pass rate for Matric5 distictions
Have you completed any other studies?If yes, what courses are you busy with or have you completed?

Stellenbosch University: BA languages

Stellenbosch University: Structured MA

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingFebruary 2012 to Jan 2013. I moved to the Southern suburbs from the Northern suburbs to live with my life partner, I also needed more money as I was being very underpaid. 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One baby boy of 6 months.
What were your duties?I would start at 6h30 in the morning so mom and dad could get to work. I would serve breakfast at around 07h00. I would change him and we would play. I took care of all his needs and also did the Practika course with him. I had general house hold duties. I did shopping, cooked all the babies meals and the parent´s dinner.I would then finish between 4pm to 6pm. It would depend on if she was on call or not. We are still good friends and I see them often.
 

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI started helping Lizelle with her children on a casual basis from 2009 and still help her from time to time. I also stayed with her children when she and her husband went over-seas for 3 weeks). I still assist them from time to time.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Baby girl, nine months. Boy of two years old
What were your duties?When both parents were away I took care of all their needs, fed them and transported them to school and various other activities. I stimulated them age appropriately.When the parents went over seas, I took care of the general house hold, bought groceries and cooked. The rest of the time I do babysitting for them, providing meals, activities and doing bathtime with them.
 

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving2010 - 2012. I needed a full time job.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 children, a boy of 3, a boy of 9 years old and a girl of 10 years old.
What were your duties?I fetched the children from school and some mornings I took them as well. I saw that they had lunch and took them to all their extra circular activities. At one stage I tutored the 9 year old boy and helped him with his home work. He has ADHD. I gave the nanny cooking lessons.
 

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leaving October 2014 to present, I am currently employed with this family.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 boy age 5 years, and a girl age 4 years.
What were your duties?

I start daily at 12h30, sometimes later depending on when the children come out from school. I will pick up the youngest, take her home, give her lunch and a rest. I would then fetch the oldest and take him to extramural if necessary. We would then go home, have lunch, and a rest. I would then stimulate them with fun activities, outside play and perhaps some crafts. I also assist with general household chores. I like to be helpful.

Do you know the applicant? Call after 5pm

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leaving 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 
What were your duties? 
Do you know the applicant? 

Reference 6:

Period and reason for leaving
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?
What were your duties?
References comments about the candidate to be filled in by interviewer

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am          

Availability Questions

Full timeR12 000 - R15 000
Part timeR 70 - R100 per hour

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?20 years. I used to babysit when I was in university, then raised my own children and have been au pairing since 2009 in a professional capacity. 
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always loved babies and children and liked spending time with them. I baby sat in high school and after raising my own children started au pairing and baby sitting professionally
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?New born (personally) and 6 months old (professionally).
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am involved with Smile Puzzles and educational toys. I go to schools with the products and write the Smile Puzzles Blogg. I love writing and reading. I love hiking, rowing, swimming and cooking.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I love to help people reaching their full potential and to be happy. I love children's sense of wonder and seeing life as an adventure.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy teaching children about the world through games. I like having conversations with them and reading to them.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?If basic first aid is required I will immediately apply that. Then phone the parents to hear what they wish me to do.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The baby I last au paired got hold of a bottle of thinners that the builders left on the ground. ( the house was still being finished off when the family moved in). He was screaming and after I snatched the bottle from his hand, I rinsed him of repeatedly with cold water. I applied ice packs to red areas on his skin until the skin was normal again. I phoned his parents who are both doctors and they both agreed that I did the right thing. After about half an hour he stopped screaming and relaxed. I cuddled and hold him through all the time, when I wasn't busy applying the cold water treatment.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe in a loving but firm approach. Children feel safe if there are definite boundaries. I do respect the parents discipline methods. Time out, or taking away privileges seems to work best in my experience.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I will first make sure that the child's basic needs are all met: Is he/she maybe hungry, thirsty, tired, injured or does he/she need a nappy change. Then I will remove the situation upsetting him/her by diverting attention to some new game, toy or situation.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I will let the child know by tone of voice and using the right words that the act is unacceptable. I will acknowledge his/her need for creative expression and do a fun filled activity where he/she can express their creativity freely.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I will first try to determine why the child are unwilling to do the home work. I will make sure the child understands the work to be done. I will give him/ her an incentive to finish the work, for instance a reward like a favorite game that they can play when completing the home work.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?All ages
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I still do baby sitting/au pairing on a casual basis for Lizelle Senekal.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?I have a son of 17 and a half and a daughter of 14 and a half. They have been living with their dad since 2011 and my daughter since July 2012.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am an honest, reliable, fun loving person with a warm personality who truly want to make the world a better place for everyone around me. I love life and are excited about every-bodies full potential being unleashed. I am a softy but have definite boundaries and believe strongly in solid good morals and ethics. I believe every body should be treated fairly.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScrambled egg, bacon and toast with tomato and avocado.
LunchTuna salad or pasta.
DinnerA nice nurturing stew.
SnackFruit, cheese and biltong
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I have cooked various special diets for people. I have also had a catering company for years. I held a position as a chef at a five star guest house. I do not want to cook tripe.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have successfully raised to teenagers who are now two balanced and well rounded people, prepared for what life might bring. I raised them as a single mother from the time my son was 9 and my daughter 6 years old. They are now two independent, happy teenagers who are sociable and living clean lives. My son, currently in matric is a prefect. My daughter tutors Afrikaans to her English friends and loves partaking in sports.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.