Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Norah

Personal Details

Reference # 201-58340
Name Norah
Nationality Zimbabwean
Age 2019
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Shona (1st), English(2nd), Afrikaans (3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2004 Renault Scenic
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2005

Education

Secondary Education
Zimbabwe High School
Tertiary EducationLLB Law -  UNISA - 2014 - 2018 (studying part-time)
First aid Training Yes (need to renew it)

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingSince October 2013 - January 2015. I was planning to go to the UK and failed to go because it was a scam. I already resigned and they had found someone new.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Twin boys, from newborn. Retief and Andre
What were your duties?Taking care of the children, feeding them ,playing with them, bathing them, taking them for a drive to friends and play parks (when they were older).
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingSince 2009 - 2013. The creche closed down.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?15 - 20 children per class. Boys and girls.
What were your duties?I was teaching the children, I also helped out with the aftercare, helped with homework. I also worked in the baby class, I had to change nappies and feed the babies.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula
False Bay
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2009.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?My first work was with children, I had to help out at a school and that is when I start enjoying to work with children and teach them.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?A newborn baby.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I like to drive out to a scenery, I like to swim as well. I like to read a lot.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I like to be around children, I am happy when I am around them. I like to see them grow up and learn new things.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I like to play games with them, build blocks withe them, build puzzles, play outside with them, play sports and kick balls, run around and I love reading to them.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I will try my best to help the child, use my first skills, and I will call the parents immediately. If it is a serious accident, I will call for help or the ambulance.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I was in a situation where I and the child had a language barrier, I explained to the child that he needs to speak English to me and he tried his best. That is when I started to learn Afrikaans.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe I have to follow the parents method of discipline. I don't always believe in time-out.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I will stay calm and wait for the child to calm down as well. I will talk to the child when he/she is calm and try to find out why he/she is upset.
How do you handle a crying baby?I will check if the baby is hungry and check the time table for feeding, I will see if the baby has a wet nappy, I will see if the baby has a wind and I will check if the baby is hot and try to cool the baby.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?To make sure the child is always safe, and provide in all his/her needs.
Can you prepare meals for infants?Yes.
Have you ever bathed an infant before?Yes.
Are you capable of looking after twins?Yes.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?I think it is important their development, running around is very good for their gross motor development and their muscles. Its very important for children to play together because they have to make friends, mix with different cultures and they learn so much from each other. They also learn to share and take turns.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?Build puzzles, build blocks, read books and talk about the pictures, we can draw and paint.
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?20 minutes per day.
Are you willing to supervise friends of the children who are invited to their home while you are in charge?Yes.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with the children’s homework?Yes.
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?Yes.
What kind of outings would you organize for the children?I will take them to the library, I will take them to a play ground, I can organize a play date, I can take them to the movies, I can take them to the beach etc.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?We can swim, play ball games, we can read books, we can do crafts.
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?Yes.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?Yes, I am organized, I like things to be done in a certain way.
How would you handle:
 
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I will give the child a paper to draw on or coloring book. I will explain to the child that it is wrong to draw on the wall and he/she needs to help clean the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I will explain to the child the importance about doing homework and will motivate the child to give his/her best.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any age groups.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes, I have two children.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a friendly and soft spoken person. I am a hard working person, I am trustworthy and people can rely on me.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes.
BreakfastScrambled eggs, toast, porridge.
LunchMacaroni and cheese, pasta dishes, sandwiches.
DinnerRoast chicken, fish, vegetables.
SnackFruit, yogurt, biscuits.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?My husband, myself and my one child live together in South Africa. My daughter that lives with us is 12 years old. My husband is a waiter at a restaurant. We are a close family and like to go to the beach, shop together and just spend quality time together.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.