Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Jean-Lee

Personal Details

Reference # 201-57625
Name Jean-Lee
Nationality South African
Age 25
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English(1st) Afrikaans (1st) (fully bilingual)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2004 Citi golf 1.4 or a Landrover Discovery 2006
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?July 2012

Education

Secondary Education
Sutherland High School (2012)
Tertiary Education

Currently in final year for a

BA in Fine Arts from AFDA Cape Town

First aid TrainingYes, valid until January 2018

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingFebruary 2012 to November 2012, moved from Pretoria to Cape Town for studies.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 child, 5 years old, female
What were your duties?The parents were in entertainment and often worked late, I would do adhoc babysitting for them. Sometimes I would fetch her from school and take her home. I would prepare snacks, keep her entertained, I did swimming with her on occasion, read stories together, I would put her to bed.  Occasionally I would work for them on weekends. I was quite close to Janine and we still keep in contact.  
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been assisting caring for children professionally towards the end of the year. 
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I started out babysitting my friends niece and realized my aspirations to au pair overseas. I plan to still do this in 2016/2017.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Professionally the youngest is 5 years old, personally through family and friends the youngest I have cared fro is 18 months to 2 years old. I know how to change diapers and prepare bottles, feed etc.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I work out in my spare time, I enjoy going to gym and hiking.  I enjoy walking my dogs, and visiting historical sites.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I enjoy the care free nature and imagination that a child has and to share in the development of a child is an honor.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy swimming, dancing and signing, and arts and crafts. I also enjoy being outside in nature and regular visits to the beach.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I will always approach a case of emergency with a calm and collected approach, I will contact all necessary emergencies contacts, and I will try to the best of my abilities to handle the situation as I know best.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I took care of a child that developed a fever, I called and scheduled an emergency appointment at the family doctor with the mothers consent, and went to collect the necessary medication for the child and the fever passed.
What is your approach to discipline? I believe in handling a situation using reason and compromise.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would try to find out why the child is feeling angry and distressed and try my best to talk the child into a calm state.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Firstly I would explain why it is inappropriate behavior to write on a wall and then I would oversee the child cleaning the wall and taking responsibility for his/her actions
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would try to compromise with the child, if the child states that the homework is confusing or boring I would then try my best to help him/her finish the homework and make it a bit more entertaining. if the child simply does not want to do it i would implement a reward approach for example if the homework is finished he/she can do something fun of his/her choosing
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?4 years to 13 years
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a creative and compassionate individual, I am able to make fast and smart decisions using my intuitive personality. I have a caring nature and I take the time to listen.I am outgoing.
Can you cook?
Yes, I love cooking
BreakfastBacon and eggs, and omelettes
LunchMacaroni and cheese, salads, nachos, toasted sandwiches
DinnerStir fry, roasted vegetables, any type of meat, pumpkin pie, chicken pie.
SnackBarn muffins, choc chip muffins, pumpkin fritters, buffalo wings
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I come from a loving home with an older sister and a mom and dad who are married. We love our animals and enjoy cooking and hanging out together. my dad is a business man and my mom is a stay at home mom, and they fully support me in wanting to pursue a job in childcare.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.