Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Caroline

Personal Details

Reference # 201-57512
Name Caroline
Nationality South African Passport/ French Passport
Age 46
Gender Female
Marital Status Divorced
Languages English (1st) French (1st) Afrikaans (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Reno Modus 2005
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
 In what year did you obtain your driving license?29/04/1999

Education

Secondary Education

Good Hope Seminary-1990 (until std. 8)

Cape Town Technical College (N3 Educare practical matric) -1992

Tertiary Education
Educare N1 N2 N3  (for matric at Cape Town Technical college)
Child Care Home Practitioner -(National Open College Network)-2009
Secretarial Training- (Academy of Learning)-1994
Tour Guide Training(Livingstone Training Academy)- 2010
Qualified Nail Technician trained at NSI Training Academy -2005

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingOctober 2008 until March 2010, Was the for nearly two years, I got divorced and returned to South Africa.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Class of 8 to 10 children, aged from 18 months to 2 1/2 years old
What were your duties?I was the nursury manager. I had a class assistant. I would work one of two shifts daily, either 8am to 5pm, or 9am to 6pm.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingFebruary 2002 to December 2003. I returned to South Africa and the family had to move 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 children, aged 10 years old, 8 years old and 5 years old.
What were your duties?I looked after the children, with my day starting at 15h15, I would collect them from school, provide them with snacks and lunch which I would prepare. I would then assist them with their homework and then prepared dinner for the kids. I would stay until 7pm in the evening.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingSeptember 1996 to April 1999. I moved to the UK.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Started with the family when she had her first son, and while I was working for her, she had her second child.Both boys.
What were your duties?I started working for the family when their first born was 3 months old. I did everything for him, caring for him as a mother would, so all duties pertaining to his care and changing needs through the development process. When the first was around 19 months old she had her second son, who I also cared for from birth onwards. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have? Since 1992.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I did Educare and really enjoyed it. I have done different courses but looking after Children is rewarding and fun. I have enjoyed all my positions that I have had in the past.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?From the age of 3 months old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I love baking and cooking trying out new recipes. I love walking on the beach, reading, socialising, I also enjoy going to the movies and walking around markets.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?Basically, I enjoy seeing how they develop and knowing I have had a good influence on the child's development.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?All depends how old the children are. I enjoy doing arts and crafts. Doing water play and painting. Going for walks going to the beach. Taking them to extra activities also take them swimming. I love to keep the children busy with enjoyable things to do.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency? 
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The only time I had a bit of an emergency was when I looked after Keiran he started walking and as he climb the stairs he hit his lip on the corner of the step which he had a cut. I immediately got a wet face cloth held it down on his lip called his mom and she instructed I take him immediately to the doctor but luckily it was not as bad as I thought so he did not require stitches but I prefer that the doctor sees the child and make sure all is okay.
What is your approach to discipline?I always ask first how the parent would like me to discipline the child how they do it and continue the way they want me to do it.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would wait till they are finished. I would try and reason with them and ask them or try and establish what  the issue was in the first place.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain why drawing on walls is not where we draw or paint. I would provide other material and remove the child from the site of the situation.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would give the child time to relax. I would then try to make the work fun, they might have trouble understanding the work, I would assist and we would do it together.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I like from age 3 months to 12 years.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am patient, reliable, friendly and hardworking. I generally get on very well with people. I´m also a very fair and loving person.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
Breakfast Either cereals and fruit. or toast with favourite spread or bacon and eggs and toast depends what they feel like.
Lunch 
Dinner Chicken with vegetables and mash potatoes also depends what they like
Snack Cut up fruit pieces
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking? No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have 2 brothers and 1 sister. My sister is married and she lives in the United Kingdom. I have 1 brother in France and my other brother in Cape Town. My parents are divorced my mom live in Franschhoek. My parents are both French.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.