Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Lauren

Personal Details

Reference # 201-55677
Name Lauren
Nationality South African
Age 37
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English(1st) Afrikaans(2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Polo Vivo 1.4 2011
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?Yes
 If yes, please describe the accident and when it happenedThe man in front of me slammed on breaks without warning, I went into the back of him.
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2003

Education

Have you completed matricYes
Where did you attend highschoolWordsworth High 2000
 What was your passrate for MatricExemption
Have you completed any other studies?If yes, what courses are you busy with or have you completed?

Diploma in travel and tourism: Jan 2001 - Dec 2001: Damelin College

PR certificate:Jan 2011- Dec 2013: Damelin Correspondence

Diploma in Public Relations:Jan 2014 - Dec 2015: Damelin Correspondence

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingNovember 2011 - April 2013. It was a half day role and I wanted to become more financially independent.We are all still good friends.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children age 6 and 7 years old.
What were your duties?I would collect them from School at 1pm. Id take them to their gran for lunch. I would help them into their activity gear, horse riding, golf, swimming etc. I would drive them to all activities. I would stay at the activities and then go back to their mom's house to do their homework.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingStarted assisting in 2012 to 2015. She started going through a divorce and they shared the duty of looking after the children. So the mom didn't need me to help anymore as she preferred being with the children when she had them.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?A boy aged 5 years old and a girl aged 2 years old.
What were your duties?I look after them on Friday nights from 6pm to 10pm, I would help to provide them with meals, entertaining them, ptting them down to sleep, occasdionally swiming with them etc. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full time
Part time 

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been involved in childcare since 2001. I initially did a 4 month camp in the United states. I also au paired from 2011 to 2014 and have done babysitting on an adhoc basis throughout my career.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I started looking after children as a camp counsellor in America. Did babysitting while in high school. Did au pairing whilst studying. Further babysitting in evenings.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?2.5 years old
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy going to gym.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Child care comes naturally to me. Enjoy their company.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Ask want they want to do. Every child is different. They are happy and make your time more enjoyable when you do what they want to do. Eg: Ride bike outside in garden.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would call the parents or emergency number. I would if necessary put them in the car and take them emergency room CPR etc.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A 6 year old child messed himself, pooh in pants, tried to clean it himself, all over legs and then climbed into the bed. Also messed himself at school. Embarrassing for him. Cleaned him up and we discussed it. The parents took him to a play therapist.
What is your approach to discipline?It depends on the family. I like to explain my why something needs to be done or a behaviour that is inappropriate. 

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would remove the child from the situation and provide a distraction.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain why we don't draw on walls and get the child to assist me to clean it.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Find out what the problem is, why he doesn't enjoy the work, make games out of the work and assist him to do to.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?From 2 and half years old upwards.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Pia Van Der Merwe
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Hard worker, genuine, loving. Good with kids naturally. People call me sweet and outgoing.
Can you cook?Yes
BreakfastCereal or eggs breakfast
LunchSandwiches or toast
DinnerPasta and mince. Chicken and vegetables.
Snackfruit, biscuits
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Pigs heads, tripe, tongue, organs.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.Normal family. Love each other but we all older now and independent. My sister lives in Melborne.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.