Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Carla Joy

Personal Details

Reference # 201-55666
Name Carla Joy
Nationality South African
Age 29
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Kia Picanto 2010
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2012

Education

Secondary Education
St.Mary´s DSG, Kloof
What was your passrate for MatricFETC Certificate with Distinction (IEB)
Tertiary Education

Rhodes Univeristy - BComm Drama (2009-2011)

Rhodes Univeristy - BComm Drama & Management Honours (2012) 

First aid TrainingI am signed up to complete a course.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingDSG Grahamstown, Hostel Assistant January to December 2012. I moved to Johannesburg.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2012 DSG Grahamstown. Greystone Junior Hostel, Live-In Student Assistant. 45 Girls, ages 9-13. Females,
What were your duties?

I would start in the afternoons at 3pm. I would insuring pupils abide by hostel rules, assist in doing prep, homework, writing orals, projects etc, making sure they prepare for the following day, do last minute checks, they are in bed etc. so lights out was at 8/ 8h30pm. I would organize entertainment for pupils over weekends. I would assist in giving meds. Working with staff members & fellow student assistants. If it was morning duty, I would get up very early, assist the children getting ready if needed, provide breakfast, do inspection, provide meds to kids who would need it. Managing fights when necessary, assisting the girls with personal issues and questions.  On weekends we would do outings and host movie nights. 

  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingRhodes University Management Tutor 2011-2012. Left Rhodes University.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Tutored 30-40 Management 1 Students. Ages 18-22.
What were your duties?A role model to undergraduates; actively developing a relationship with individuals inside the classroom & on campus. Supporting students in their personal capacity & going the extra mile with pupils needing individual tutoring.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving

St.Michael´s St.Georges Cathedral Grahamstown 2009-2012.

Moved to Johannesburg

Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Sunday School: 20-30 Children Ages 2 years -16 years old. Student Service, band leader: 10 Students Ages 18-23.
What were your duties?Teaching & preparation of Sunday School lesson & music. Engaging with kids in a creative & fun way through the use of art, drama & music. Teaching guitar. Most Sundays I managed the entire group alone.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?2 years of fulltime experience
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I loved the energy the kids gave back to you whilst working at DSG School in Grahamstown, and would love to have the opportunity to work with kids again. Their fun-loving care free attitudes were rewarding, despite the challenges!
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Aged 3 years (Sunday School)
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Dance: Ballet & Zumba, Yoga, Play guitar, Baking & Reading. I am a freelance Creative Producer.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Learning to see the world through their innocence, with fun & laughter. Making a game out of the challenges! The rewarding feedback from the parents & children.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Arts & Crafts, Music, Drama Games, Board Games. Building Blanket Forts, having themed movie nights; outdoor activities/ games & playing dress up. Anything that uses imagination & creativity is always a winner.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Call an Ambulance/ Police/ Emergency services. Phone the guardian/parents. Ensure other children/ household is safe.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Child fell off a bunk bed whilst sleeping, Went into shock, broke leg. Placed child in recovery position, covered with blanket, Called nursing sister on emergency number. Instructed other girls in dorm to remain calm & stay in their beds. Child was taken to emergency clinic.
What is your approach to discipline?Children need to learn the difference between right & wrong behaviours through postive discipline approaches. Parents should be involved.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Depending on my relationship with the parents, the child would be left to cry and not given the attention, but not left alone.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Asked to explain why they drew on the wall, clean-up & pack away crayons.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Through some kind of positive reward e.g. when you finish you can play outside & assisting the child to get through the homework they are struggling with so that it goes faster.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Ages 5-16
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Not anymore
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Tutu wearing ballerina. Full of life & energy. Nougat lover. Believer of Faith & Beauty. I make an excellent cup of tea & I like to sing.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastFrench Toast & Crispy Bacon with Tomato Sauce smiley faces, Rooibos tea
LunchHome-made hamburgers, tomato, lettuce, cheese & oven baked chips, Fruit juice
DinnerRoast Chicken, Roast Veggies, Rice & Gravy
SnackRice cakes, jungle oats bars, apple juice, yoghurt, fruit salad
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No - I am willing to learn
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.We are a close knit family of four. My parents live in Durban. My brother is studying in Pretoria. I am freelancing in Cape Town. We grew up within a strong Christian household & loving home. We are blessed with parents who care & are involved in our life journey. I hope my family is the same one day.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.