Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Juanne Michaela

Personal Details

Reference # 201-54674
Name Juanne Michaela
Nationality South African
Age 24
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) Afrikaans (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy? Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Opel Corsa C 2003
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?November 2014

Education

Secondary EducationEdgemead High -2013
Tertiary Education
BA Foundation Phase teaching-UNISA, I will be doing 1st year in 2015.
First aid TrainingI intend to complete my first aid course in Feb/March 2015 

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2014 - Still assist occasionally. I fill in for the au pair on occasion or do babysitting for them.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children aged 4 and 9 years old
What were your duties?Providing meals, bathing, dressing them, putting to bed, going to the park, provide them with entertainment.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJuly 2012 to present I assist on an adhoc basis and still do assist her.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Boy New Born
What were your duties?Working over weekends and evenings. Feeding, changing nappies, sole responsibility for him when assisting, bathing, playing around and doing educational things. Taking him on outings.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving2012 to 2013, they no longer required assistance. The family was going through a tough financial time.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 girl aged 3 years old
What were your duties?Babysitting,  feeding, entertaining, changing diapers, having fun together, bathing etc.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been involved looking after family and friends children since I was aged 11.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Since I was small I've always loved children, I always landed up looking after my family and friends children, the older I got the more I could do and eventually I started doing baby sitting. I now would like to move to au pairing to become close with a family and be more permanent.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?New Born.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am study foundation teaching.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I like that I can bond with the children and give them the needed attention/affection- love and laughs are always good for children. Being able to teach them the right from wrong. Being able to do educational work with them and making them feel good when they do well in their work.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Any activities- playing sports, going on educational outings, swimming, going to the park.. If it will make the children happy then I am happy to do the activity
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency? Example, a child falls out of a tree and breaks his leg.
I would call an ambulance. I would not allow the child to move until help arrived. I wouldn't want him to break anything further. I would then call the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?When the parents don´t allow you to teach right from wrong, allowing the child to do and say nasty things but they can't be rectified. I went about it by speaking to the parents describing how it can turn out negatively if the children say nasty or dirty words around others company.
What is your approach to discipline?It all depends on the age. I don't believe in shouting, I always speak in a firm but pleasant tone, I give 3 warnings before a "naughty corner" gets set for x amount of minutes (explaining to them why they there) or if they want to apologize that is fine as long as it doesn't happen again. If they to old for naughty corner then I would just have a decent conversation with the children to explain what they have done wrong. I good approach always leaves a positive mind set for the children.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Shouting makes it worse. The best is to just sit down and be with them while they rage or try picking them, if in a public place try taking them to a quiet place for them to calm down.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Tell them that it is wrong, make them clean it themselves but stand with them.To try prevent it happening again, get a chalk board or colouring book making it clear that its perfect to draw on that only.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Do not bribe but Reward their performance consistently. Withhold activities if they have any, until the work is done. Try to make the work easier for them by explaining and helping as much as possible
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?New born - 13 years
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Zita Ferrerira
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am often soft, very friendly and loving lady, I love the outdoors. I am very home orientated. 
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEggs, bacon, toast
LunchNoodles, sandwiches
DinnerCottage pie
SnackFruit
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?Loud, fun and loving family, very outgoing and taking on new challenges.We are family orientated. My mom is a sales rep and my dad is a detective in Claremont police station.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.