Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Amy

Personal Details

Reference # 201-54566
Name Amy
Nationality South African
Age 24
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references? 
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Yaris 2008
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?09/2014

Education

Secondary Education
Wynberg Girls High School -2013
Tertiary Education

Unisa-B.Ed Foundation Phase (going into 2nd year)

First aid TrainingValid until 15 November 2017

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingTeaching prac (4 weeks) (28 July - 22 August) + 1 week observation (April 2014)
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Class of 20 children aged 3 years to 5 years old
What were your duties?Lessons planning with the provided theme, teaching, taking care of the children's needs. I would prepare 4 art lessons per day. At this age the day would consist of quiet play, active play, and art. 
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving21 July -  25 July, observation, teaching practical
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 25 kids age 1 to 2 years old
What were your duties?observations only and learning.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have always been passionate about children. I enjoy watching them grow and I want to be part of that process. This is why I am studying teaching. I particularly enjoy working with younger age groups as their learning is far more obvious than in older children. 
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I currently study teaching through Unisa and have a love for children.I have done babysitting before for families and really enjoyed it.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?3 years old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I like to go to classes at the gym and I enjoy the beach.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I like seeing and being a part of their growth and development as little individuals.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?It depends on the child - depending on their interests. But I particularly like play dough, puzzles and stories.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?First see if there is anything I could do with my first aid experience but otherwise immediately call the ambulance and parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A child cut their head open and I tried to keep him calm the teachers around me stopped the bleeding -and called the EMT.
What is your approach to discipline?Shouting gets you nowhere, but I like the ´Thinking Chair´ technique.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would not give them the attention they want and I would leave them for a little while - and if it still continues I would try calmly identify what is troubling them.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Take the crayons out of his/her hand and then discipline them the way the parents are okay with (or by default the thinking chair)
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would first attempt to sit down and help him - and attempt to make the homework fun.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?3 years old and upwards.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a 19yr old student - that chose to study teaching as I have always loved being surrounded by children. I love sport and also really enjoy spending time with friends and family.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastFrench Toast/Scrambled Eggs
LunchToasted Sandwiches
DinnerMac and Cheese
SnackCheese and Crackers
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Certain meats that have to be cooked appropriately.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have a 21yr old brother who is studying Law, a Mother who is a Pharmacist and a Dad who is a Project Manager. My parents are still together and we are a close family.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.