Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Michelle

Personal Details

Reference # 201-54500
Name Michelle
Nationality South African
Age 25
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) and Afrikaans (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Conquest 1995
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?April 2013

Education

Secondary Education
Campus Academy of Learning: (NQF level 4) (technical matric) completed 2014. Early Childhood Development.
Tertiary EducationN/A
First aid TrainingYes, expiring July 2017.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2013 - December 2014. I would like to further my career in childcare. I have been with them for 2 years now and would like to grow in my career which I feel I cannot do there. 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?

January 2013 - July 2014: I was the teachers assistant to a class of 25 children aged 2 to 3 years old.

February 2014 - December 2014: I was the aftercare teacher to around 15 to 20 children, aged from 2 years to 12 years olds. 

What were your duties?

Teachers Assistant role:

I would arrive at 08h00. The children would have free play until 8h30. At which point we had morning ring. We would do a story and a theme. We then had bathroom time. From 9h00 would do art in the art room, or do games in the games room (lego, blocks, cognitive development), from 10h00 to 10h30 we would have tea time. From 10h30 until 11h45, we do outside play or art, or games. We would then close the day with a story. and we would then do lunch. The parents would then fetch them at 1pm. My other duties included packing out tea time snacks, ensuring the bathroom is clean, playing with children, washing hands for snack time., setting out toys for the children, changing nappies, playing with the children, preparing art classes and cleaning up afterwards, preparing the sleeping area, and assisting when it was nap time, preparing the children for lunch, going on outings with the children and ensuring the lockers were kept tidy. I assisted in implementing lessons in art, through games and outside play which often involved building or creating fun obstacle courses, singing and dancing. 

After Care Teacher role to the younger groups:

I would arrive at 15h30 and stay until 17h30. My duties would be to observe the children, insure they that their mental and physical needs are met. I would play and interact with the children. I would change nappies, assist those who were potty training, assist in feeding the children, cleaning up after them, cleaning the bathroom and preparing for home time.

  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingSince October 2014 - present
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 boy, age 2 years old
What were your duties?Adhoc babysitting, providing snacks and a bottle, story time, playing trucks, making forts, changing his diaper etc.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part Time
Negotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been professionally involved in childcare in 2012.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always felt a connection to children. I am passionate about teaching and learning. As a child I did not have great access 3to education to myself. I would like to one day become a primary school teacher and feel the importance of providing that extra love and attention. Having experienced the loss of a biological parent at a young age, I feel I have a lot of love to give and am a nurturer. I am drawn to giving this care to children. I would like to get into au pairing as I feel this will be a good learning experience and I will learn a lot working one on one with children. 
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Professionally 2 years old, privately (through family) from new born.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Teddy bear making and assisting my uncle who is a wedding DJ.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I like to know that I make a difference. That bringing joy and happiness to a child´s life, is the best feeling.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Reading stories. Playing soccer on the lawn. Painting and doing any type of art activity. Most important, is always taking time to listen to all their stories.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Stay calm. Phone Ambulance / Police immediately. If needed, do a full check on child and do what needs to be done, CPR or taking to safety. Phone Parent to notify. While this is happening keep the child as calm and safe as I can.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Haven´t come across a difficult situation yet. There was a situation, when a 5 year old fell out a tree and broke her arm. I stayed calm. Phoned her mother, comforted her, supported her arm with a sling, held her head forward as she was throwing up. When she stopped I carried her to the car, and the head teacher and myself took her to the hospital with her mothers permission.
What is your approach to discipline?I love to have fun with the children. I truly believe if I respect the child that the child will respect me. If there are certain rules of the parent that needs to be obeyed. I will follow those rules and care for the child as is wanting of the parent´s wishes.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Try to calm the child down. Ask what the situation is. Explain to the child the positive and the negative of the situation. Ask the child for a solution and guide the child to making the right one.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Explain to the child how drawing on the wall will wash off. If the child draws and a piece of paper Mommy or Daddy will be able to carry it around with them or even stick it up by their desk at work.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would try to make it fun for them and do it with them.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Newborn to 12 years old. i would specifically like to grow my experience with older children.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, for Little Acorns until 19/12/2014.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am trustworthy, responsible and easy to get along with. I Love working with children.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, basic cooking (not gourmet)
BreakfastCereal, or toast and eggs.
LunchSandwich with sliced veg (carrot, cucumber, tomatoes)
DinnerMac and cheese
SnackProvita with cottage cheese, slice of ham, veg and fruit
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Gourmet
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.Both my parents have passed away. I have two blood brothers, a step sister and a step brother. I am the youngest.  I live with my aunt and uncle they are very loving and always supportive.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.