Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Kim

Personal Details

Reference # 201-54433
Name Kim
Nationality South African
Age 34
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages English(1st), Afrikaans(2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Opel Astra
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2003

Education

Secondary Education Milnerton High school
Tertiary Education
Educare N4, N5, N6 -Northlink College - 2006-2007
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingFrom 2015, currently still babysitting for her.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One child, aged 3 years old.
What were your duties?I usually babysit him during the week from 5pm. I cook dinner, feed him, bath him and put him to bed. I also play with him before bed time.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingFrom 2006 to 2008 December. Resigned to work in public sector.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I was a Grade R teacher for 3 years (2006 - 2008) had minimum of 30 children in my class. 
What were your duties?Grade R teacher, we followed the curriculum and had to plan daily lessons. Planning holiday programmes. I also did sport coaching.
  

Reference 3:

&n

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2011. 
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have baby sitting experience, 18 months live in au pair experience, 3 years Grade R teacher experience. I love working with children and it is relaxing for me. I am at peace when I am around children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?18 months old.
How would you handle:
 
A two year old having a tantrum?I will approach the child calmly, talked to the child and ask the child to talk to me, to tell me what he or she wants. I will also take the child out of the situation.
 A crying baby? 
I will check if the baby has a dirty of wet nappy, see if the baby is are hungry, comfort the baby, give the baby a toy to sooth him or her.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old? 
My biggest responsibility is to make sure the child is safe and happy.
Can you prepare meals for infants?  
Yes.
Have you ever bathed an infant before? 
Yes.
How do you feel potty training should be approached? 
I have experience with potty training, I try to work with the parents routine, I motivate them and I read stories about the toilet routine. I also make a big deal about them using the potty, never yell at a child if he or she had an accident. I believe in positive reinforcement.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day? 
I think it is important because it builds emotional intelligence for the child, they become more independent, it develop their cognitive and physical abilities.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?
I will link activities with play. Building blocks, matching colors, sand and water play, draw pictures, play with play dough and making something out of it.
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old? 
Not more than 30 minutes at a time. I also do not believe that the tv should be on the whole day in the background.
 Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with children’s homework? 
Yes.
Are you willing to supervise friends of the children who are invited to their home while you are in charge? 
Yes.
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities? 
Yes.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old? 
I will do activities that they are interested in. Go for walks, go to the aquarium and the science center etc.
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children? 
Yes.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual? 
Yes, I want to have a structure or plan a day ahead. I am a very organized.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I have a full time job in the public sector, I am involved in public safety and emergency planning. I am a qualified emergency medical practitioner. Hobbies include reading, spending time with my family and pets, going to the beach, traveling and exploring. I also make soaps and lotions and I sell them, I love doing this.  
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child''s life?Children are amazing, they are fun to be around and everyday is different. I love spending time with children and helping them learn and master skills and concepts. I have experience in early childhood development and occupational therapy. 
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Playing sport, creative activities, learning, developmental activities, etc science projects are always fun for everyone.  
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?

I am medically, fire and disaster trained to manage and respond to a fast variety of emergencies. Call 107 for all emergencies for fast response. I work in the emergency environment and have wide access to emergency and safety response and assistance immediately.

 
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have encountered a range of situations ranging from sick to injured children and children going missing.The most important thing is to stay calm, and I am trained to stay calm. I access the situation and call for assistance if needed.
 
What is your approach to discipline?I think it is important to set the rules before time. I also follow the parents approach to discipline. Discipline is very important, always expalin to children why their action was wrong and teach them to take responsibility for their actions.

How would you handle:

A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I will stay calm, never shout at the child. Talk to the child and explain why it is wrong to draw on a wall and let the child help me clean up. I will show the child an approiate place to draw.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I will let the child take a break, I will talk to the child and find out the reason for why he/she does not want to do homework, the child might not understand the work, or had a bad day at school and take it from there. I believe motivation is key.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I like working with toddlers, 0 - 5 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I currently babysit for Taryn Springhall.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am always helpful, I always put other people's needs first, I am caring and responsible.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes.
BreakfastCereal, pancakes, yogurt and fruit.
LunchBagels and sandwiches, raw vegetables and fruit, cheese, pasta.
DinnerChicken and vegetables or pasta.
SnackCrackers, cold meat, cheese, fruit, yogurt.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am married to my husband, Louis and we are got married in 2014 and we live in Table View. I have a younger brother. My father is a fireman, he lives in Milnerton. I am very family oriented and we are a very close family. I love animals with all my heart. We love to travel.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.