Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Nicole

Personal Details

Reference # 201-53749
Name Nicole
Nationality South African
Age 31
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) Afrikaans (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Light Blue Hyundai Atos 2009 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2007

Education

Secondary Education
Sutherland High School - 2006
Tertiary Education
  • Diploma in Public Relations: Varsity College
  • Massage qualification in Holistic Body Massage
  • Powerboat II license VHF license
  • Advanced First Aid
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2008 to 2012. This was part-time while I completed my studies. I went overseas.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children, Jenna and Matthew. If I remember correctly, Jenna must have been about 4 or 5 and Matthew about 2 years old.
What were your duties?Entertaining the kids, Feeding them, Bathing, Reading, bedtime stories Changing diapers, etc. I would assist with adhoc babysitting over weekends and evenings.  I also assisted during the holidays full day while mom and dad were at work.
 

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingThis was part-time while I completed my studies. 2010 to 2012. I went overseas to work on the super yachts.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?x2 boys Pieter and Mark I babysat for Liezel and Jaco when they only had Pieter (he must of been between the age of 2 or 3) and then babysat when Mark arrived but only from when he started walking.
What were your duties?Entertaining the kids, feeding them, bathing, reading bedtime stories, changing diapers.
 

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?2 - 3 years professional childcare experience.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I was asked by our neighbors and family friends. I love children and have a blast entertaining them.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?A few months.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Doing modeling, other than that, I exercise, do yoga, writing, reading and doing portraits.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I enjoy seeing them experience life and learn, everything is so exciting from their point of view, which makes us as adults appreciate life through their eyes.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy reading to them and playing, coloring in coloring books, watching movies for the umpteenth time like 'Finding Nemo'.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Notify the parents and doctor/hospital depending on the seriousness of the emergency.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I haven´t experienced a real difficult situation, the only time was one of the kids I was babysitting for was not well. I had to make sure he took he´s medication and monitor he´s fever. Every time notifying the mom of he´s condition.
What is your approach to discipline?I will initiate ´please´ and ´thank-you´s´. I will inform the parents of any bad behavior.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I feel like 2 year old´s can cry for any reason, being a tantrum or not. I would console them with positivist, smile and laugh. I've learned from past experiences, to make funny faces or even´cry´ with them. It confuses them and then they end up laughing.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?A 5 year old has a better understanding of wrong and right, yes and no. The word ´no´ will be self-explanatory to a 5 year old and know if he/she is in the wrong.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I always resort to ´I´m going to give mommy a call and hear what she says.´ Children interestingly enough will rather do whats expected that get into trouble with the parents. Another option, is not getting to watch tv or play outside or even have a sweety once the homework is complete.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I enjoy working with kids between the ages of 3 and 5/6 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, as I moved to Cape Town and they´re all based in Pretoria.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?N/A
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I´m definitely a go-getter. I´ve been blessed and fortunate to have studied after school and then travel for a year. I love people and enjoy seeing them being happy, I seem to make it my mission to bring out the best in others. I try and do anything and everything, delivering only the best results as I´m my biggest critic and strive for better.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastBowl of oats with sliced banana, honey and cinnamon, toast with sliced avocado
LunchToasted cheese and tomato sandwich and fruit
DinnerBig green salad with chick peas, olives, tomatoes, avocado, croutons, cucumber,mushrooms
SnackFruit, chips and chocolate
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?The above meals is what I eat, I´m a vegetarian. But, I´m ok with cooking meat and any other ingredients for the child(ren)
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My parents divorced when I was 11 years old. It was definitely challenging at that age, but, my parents are rockstars to both my brother and I. As we grew older, we realized they were better off as friends and not lovers. My brother is 2 years younger than me, studying Graphic Designing and Photography at Open Window. My mom is an Internal Auditor/Senior Analyst at Deloitte and my dad has his own business as a Land Surveyor. My dad remarried in 2011 and I have 2 step sisters. My brother and I are very blessed with choosing any direction we wanted to pursue and having our parents support us.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.