Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Adriana

Personal Details

Reference # 201-51181
Name Adriana
Nationality South Afrian
Age 33
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Corsa 1.4 is 2002
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?February 2005

Education

Secondary Education
Fish Hoek
Tertiary Education
Diploma for The Montessori Early Childhood Training course. I received a distinction for this course.
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJune 2005 to December 2012. After being at the school for 7 1/2 years I needed change and growth.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Mixed, it is a preschool class, ages 2 years to 6 years.
What were your duties?

I would arrive in the morning at 8am, I would do free play until 8h30am. I would then do circle time, with singing. The children were allowed to them to choose an activity to do.  I would then work with them one on one and loved teaching them. After packing up, we would then have tea time. After that we do playtime and dress up time. We would then serve lunch. After lunch we would do free play until the parents arrived. After that I would clean up and prep lessons for the next day, usually leaving at around 1pm to 13h30. I thoroughly enjoyed seeing them learn and it was a very fulfilling role for me. I loved planning plays once a year. I find working with children refreshing. I love their honesty and openness. I got on well with my coworkers and was sad to have to leave, but I did need a change.

  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2008 - 2010. The oldest child went to grade one and they no longer required my services.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 girls, age 11 months and 3 years old.
What were your duties?I worked for them in the afternoons. Taking them on outings, cooking, feeding, general childcare, arts and crafts, baking, reading and other fun activities. I would make cooked lunches for them. I potty trained them and did bath time with them. 
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2014 to present. I am still assisting
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 girl, 8 years old.
What were your duties?Tutoring her in maths, once a week, in the afternoons.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2013 to present. I still assist them.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 girls, age 5 years old, 9 years old and 12 years old.
What were your duties?Adhoc babysitting. I keep them busy, we do story time,or board games, baking. I assist with bed time and getting them down and have on a rare occasion prepared them dinner.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?+- 9 years of experience.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I´ve had a love of children since I was attending high school and because of this and a passion to share the world with youngsters I am interested in au pairing.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?11 months old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I currently tutor primary school maths, I am very social and enjoy spending time with my family and friends. I also enjoy the beauty of nature and the outdoors and I love animals.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I love teaching children, building their confidence and independence as well as showing and getting them to experience new things.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I am adaptable, depending on the child's age, gender passions and needs.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would contact the emergency service which the parents recommend and administer any needed care before paramedics arrive and contact the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A child was hurt by a dog while at school. I made sure his wound was attended to at the school and his mother informed.
What is your approach to discipline?I would like to speak with the parents about out how they approach discipline and find a way that we are both happy with.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I personally, would try to calm them and comfort them and find out the problem. If that did not work or the child is unable to relay why they are upset, I would ignore the problem but insure that the child is safe and does not harm him or herself and wait for them to calm down or provide distractions.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would reason with the child, I would explain that mom and dad wouldn't be happy with him/her drawing on the wall, and then provide paper as well as get the child to assist me in cleaning it. 
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would try to find out why, is it to hard or is there another issue. I would help the child and make it fun to complete. 
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?2 years through to 12 years.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I am currently tutor and occasionally and I also facilitate (meaning I sit with the child in class at school). I also babysit for some of my clients. 
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am an outgoing, fun, friendly, sociable person with a zest for life. I am also patient, responsible and caring.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastVast variety - crumpets, English breakfast, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, omeletes or follow a recipe as required.
LunchVast variety, some children eat a cooked lunch,while, others just have a sandwich and some fruit.
DinnerVast variety, mild curries, homemade pie, spaghetti bolonaise, stir fry, macaroni cheese, chicken and vegetables
SnackFruit, yoghurt, provita, cheese and treats
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am very thankful to have a supportive, stable and caring family. My parents are both still alive and have been married for 33 years. My older brother has been married for 7 years and they have a 1 and a half year old little boy, whom I absolutely adore.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.