Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Juanita

Personal Details

Reference # 201-5100
Name Juanita
Nationality South african
Age 32
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans, English

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Ford Fiesta, 2005 Trend.
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?November 2006

Education

Secondary Education Hoeskool Goudrif - 2005
Tertiary Education

 Wits - Bachelor of Health Science (Biomedical tract) graduating this year.

Currently doing a Nursing Degree 2010.

First aid TrainingYes 
Other trainingNo

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJune 2008 to May 2009. Left due to part time student job during school holidays.  
Number of children, age and sex of the children when you started?Babies 
What were your duties?Assisting with setting up classes (Baby Gym, and massage), Research, Administrative work
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingFebruary 2009 till July 2009. Did this for community service.  
Number of children, age and sex of the children when you started?New born to 2/3 years old, but worked more with the babies.  
What were your duties?Feed, bathed, changed nappies, put them to bed, played with them, made sure they didn't get hurt
  

Reference 3:


Reference 4:


Reference 5:


Reference 6:


Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand
Johannesburg South

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm      
12pm-6pm        
6pm-6am        

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm      
12pm-6pm        
6pm-6am        

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always loved kids, if I am around kids I am a lot happier 
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Babies
What activities are you involved in?Running a charity (4 fundraisers going: Fun day, car wash, music festival, fishing contest); I am in a band (vocalist) and learning the key board; writing (been published 35 of my works); Gym
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Study or work on the charity (where they need help and what do they need) 
What are your interests?Music, poetry, books/Novels, medicine (emergency side), baby gym 
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?The fact that it takes very little to make them happy and smile. They don't expect much from you.  
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Social things like being around friends, church, anything that involves music, and also enjoy going to class as I love learning. I am doing a elective at the municipal fire brigade (like going out and observing) 
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Obviously you need to evaluate the situation and make sure the immediate cause is under control. Depending on the severity you call for help, and inform the parents. It is also important to stay calm.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I stumbled on an accident scene on my way home from skating. The accident was very severe: one gentleman had broken all the bones in his leg and a piece of glass in his eye, and the other had a broken arm but was in severe shock. I kept them calm and explained to them to not move and wit for the ambulance. When the ambulance came I informed them, and they let me help with the one patient to get them stabilized.
What is your approach to discipline?Very important to have set rules, and that the children understand what is right or wrong and not change the rules. Make it clear, but don't punish a child but hurting them but to give rewards and consequences (Always approach the positive side).

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I think it depends on why they throwing the tantrum. If it's because of not getting there way don't give it to them, but try calm them down. Evaluate the situation and try approach more in a positive way and not make them think they can get away with it, otherwise it will become a habit.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I think it's important to not get mad and scream, especially at that age. Explain to them why they can't draw there, and give them an alternative to it being better to draw on paper and not the wall. You must explain to them why its wrong. 
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I think the best approach is to make it fun, and that it doesn't become frustrating for them, otherwise they will never want to do their homework. Also find out why they don't want to do their homework, maybe it might be hard for them.  
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any age  
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No 
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No 
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Very fun loving person; look for things that are exciting; I like challenges; young at heart but I know when its time to have fun and a time to be serious; artistic heart
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal - unless the parents specify or what the dietary requirements in the household is.
LunchSandwich, 2 minute noodles 
DinnerVegetables, meat, rice/potatoes
SnackYogurt, fruit, once in a while a sweet, but also depending on their diet. 
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No 
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do? Are your parents still married? etc.I have a younger half brother; parents were divorced when I was 4. My dad stays in Jhb, and is not remarried. I live with my mom, step dad, and brother. My brother is the most important person in my life, as well as my mom and dad. They are always willing to help me and are very good to me.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.