Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Donna

Personal Details

Reference # 201-49013
Name Donna
Nationality South African
Age 39
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English(1st) Afrikaans (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
 5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Conquest 1995
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2010

Education

Secondary Education
Heathfield High school - 1997
Tertiary Education

College of Cape Town-N4, N5 and N6 Certificates in Educare - 2011

UWC-Library and Information Science Diploma - 1998 to 1999 (I had to stop and could not complete the course due to financial constraints)

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2014 to June 2014. It was a 6 month short term contract while the family visited South Africa. They returned to the US. 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 girls, aged 2 years old and 6 years old
What were your duties?I would start at 8am, I would arrive, get the little one up, provide her with breakfast, get her dressed and then start activities, We would then do educational activities. After that we would go for a walk, or go on an outing together. We would return by 12h00 for lunch. I would then do an outdoor activity and thereafter she would have a nap. While she was napping (mom and dad work from home), I would prepare snacks and often fetch the older daughter from school. I would assist the eldest with her homework. We would then do some fun activities together in the afternoons after a snack. I would then leave at around 4pm. I also potty trained the youngest. When I babysat for them I would also do bath time, story time, prepare dinners and bed time. I had a very good relationship with Sarah and Markus. They are very hands on parents. We were able to communicate well and this contributed to a lovely professional relationship.  I loved spending time with kids and going on outings together. 
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJune 2010 to December 2013. All the children progressed to Grade R  (I was their Grade 0 teacher).I also closed the school.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 kids, all in succession, age 3 to 4 years.
What were your duties?I brought Smurfy's preschool based at Kommetjie Primary in 2010. I was teaching as the grade O teacher. All of Christelle's 3 children attended my class in succession, however I was teaching 14 children on a daily basis in my grade 0 class. I would start morning ring at 8am. I would have a different theme each week. I would base the lessons for the week on these themes. We would then do free play and after that would be snack time. We would then do micro groups doing cognitive and fine motor development. We would then do music and movement class followed by more free play. I would then do story time and would finish the day at 12h30. 
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2012  to December 2013.They moved onto Grade R and I closed the school. 
Number of children, age and gender of the children when you started?1 girl, from age 3 to 5 years old. 
What were your duties?Please refer to Christelle's reference regarding duties. Alexis was with me for 2 years in the Grade O class.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2006 - June 2008, I applied for a position at another school which was closer. 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I started as the Gr. R assistant to 20 children (2006), then I moved to the baby center,(2007) where I was the supervisor to 10 infants aged 3 months to 2 years old. I then moved to the toddler group (two to three years old) (2008).
What were your duties?When I was the grade R assistant, I assisted the teacher in monitoring and implementing the main teachers lessons, etc. Then I moved to the baby center, full time from 8am to 5pm. I was responsible for feeding, changing diapers, insuring a hygienic and clean environment, providing stimulation to the children. I had one assistant and we worked together to run the center. I enjoyed this part of the role very much. I then moved with the infants to the toddler group where I was responsible for doing morning ring, educational and art activities, feeding, potty training, etc. This was also a full day role. 
  

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leavingJuly 2008 - December 2009,  I purchased my own school.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I was the GR R teaching assistant (25 children) (July 2008 - December 2008), I then became the GR O teachers assistant (25 children) (January 2009 - December 2009)
What were your duties?I assisted the teacher. I got children ready, assisted the children in completing activities, assisted in providing lessons, feeding, potty training, play time, supervision and I was responsible for the full day of teaching on Friday's.
Do you know the applicant? 

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am          

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been caring for children in a professional capacity since 2006.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I always had a passion for taking care of children. I started doing baby sitting after matric and thoroughly enjoyed it.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?3 months old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy baking and also motor cycle riding.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?What I like the most is to see children being happy and confident. I love making sure each child knows that they are special and they deserve to be loved and taken care of.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy baking and creative art activities. I also enjoy outdoor activities such as picnics,going to the beach.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?lt´s important for the caregiver always to stay calm and in control. Depending on emergency, check if CPR is necessary. Call for paramedics/police/fire fighters if necessary. Call the parents. It is important never to leave a child alone or without supervision. The child should always feel safe.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The child I was looking after did not want to take her afternoon nap. I always stayed calm no matter how frustrating it was. Tried different techniques before nap-time (reading a story,listening to soft music,etc). It was also important not to give in to the child but to make sure she understood that having a nap was important.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe that all children should have boundaries and a consistent set of rules. They need to know that if they overstep the boundaries or rules there will be consequences.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Ignoring the tantrum is a very effective strategy. Children usually have tantrums to draw attention. The child must realize that throwing a tantrum is inappropriate behavior. Time out has to be used carefully.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would take the child away from what he is doing wrong. Explain to the child that what he is doing is inappropriate.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Explain to child that it is important to do homework. Take a way privileges such as tv, ipad until homework is done.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?all ages
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a very energetic, compassionate, patient person. I love educating/nurturing children so that they can become confident young people.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal, fruit and yogurt, eggs, sausages
LunchSandwich, chicken nuggets
DinnerPasta
SnackFruit salad
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am married for 10 years now. I do not have children of my own due to an operation I had when I was 14yrs old. My mother and sister are both teachers.My mom and dad are married for 40 years. I have a very strong family network and are very close.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.