Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Caitlin

Personal Details

Reference # 201-46894
Name Caitlin
Nationality South African
Age 24
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)BMW 116i-series 2008 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?June 2013

Education

Secondary Education
Roedean School (SA) - 2013
Tertiary Education
Currently studying Law - UCT
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingHoliday work January; June a total of around 6 weeks of full day experience. It was only holiday work.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Class of 14, 2-3 year olds, Male and female
What were your duties? I have been working at the school for years on a volunteer basis, this reference outlines my hired duties. I arrived at work at 7, provide the children with breakfast. I did activities and outdoor learning. I would assist in providing lunch and putting the children down to nap. I acted as a substitute teacher as well and  I acted as a substitute teacher for the 2 to 3 year old class. I had an assistant. I did lesson planning in collaboration with the other teachers and then implement this. We did painting, building blocks, general knowledge building etc. I loved getting to know the children and enjoy learning and growing daily. It is such a key stage in their development. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm        
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2009, beginning with working at Princess Alice Adoption Home in Johannesburg, Westcliff in Grade 8.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I wanted to do community service with children and knew I loved babies and young children. I love seeing them learn and develop as a result of love and care.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?2 weeks old, at Princess Alice Adoption Home.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I have just sold my horse, but I was very involved in my sport. I enjoy writing and spend a lot of time on my studies and enjoy going to gym and keeping healthy.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I enjoy getting to know the individual children and their personalities. I enjoy seeing them learn and develop as a result of love and invested time
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Outdoor activities and learning and conversation. I enjoy going to the park and going for walks with the stroller if the child is young. I enjoy assisting with homework and preparing meals.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would assess the situation: I would perform my knowledge of first aid training and, if the situation required it, I would then take the child to the emergency room or call an ambulance. If this was not necessary, I would notify the parents of the incident and watch the child carefully for any behavioral changes until he/she is out of my care.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The child woke up crying and, as I picked her up, I felt that she was abnormally warm. I took her temperature and she had a spiked temperature of 38,7 degrees. I administered Calpol and called her parents and filled out a medical form for documentation. I then lowered her core temperature by placing a cold cloth on the back of her neck and taking off her shoes and top. I then took there temperature again and it had dropped to 37,5 degrees. I sat with her and watched her until her parents fetched her
What is your approach to discipline?Firm voice and clear boundaries. Depending on the parents´ opinions, a "naughty chair" could be implemented. It also depends on the age of the child

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Remain calm and do not attempt to shout over the child. Remain firm and stand my ground but I would not attempt to reason with the child at this stage and would only try once he/she has calmed down. Until then, I would remain firm and not give in but I would ignore the tantrum.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Take away whatever the child is drawing with, get down to eye level and communicate firmly to the child that we do not draw on walls because we have paper to draw on and I would then provide a piece of paper as an alternative to the wall
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Provide and initiative for the homework to be done: once the child has completed his/her homework, then we can go to the park or go and do whatever the child wants to do instead of the homework
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?0-10 year olds, preferably. However, I can and am willing to work with all age groups.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, I still work at Stepping Stones in the university holidays, but am not working for anyone presently.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I do not but definitely do want children some day!
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I would describe myself as calm and reasonable and able to make decisions for others effectively. I am patient and determined and enjoy being around people
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEggs, omelettes, french toast, bacon, muesli
LunchQuiche, roast veggies, chicken, fish, mince, pasta, lasagne
DinnerAnything with a recipe (and same as lunch)
SnackSandwich, fruit salad and yoghurt, cut veggies
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I am open to cooking anything
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have a younger sister and a mom and a dad who currently live in Johannesburg. My mom is a primary school teacher at Roedean and my dad works with aviation insurance. My younger sister and I are very close and she is currently completing Grade 11 at Roedean School for Girls (SA).

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.