Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Megan

Personal Details

Reference # 201-46168
Name Megan
Nationality South African
Age 25
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2004 Ford Ka
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2012

Education

Secondary Education
Wynberg Girls´ High School & Abbotts College
Tertiary Education
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI have been au pairing for them for almost 2 years. I would like a new au pair job as I’d like to work more hours than I currently do so that I can give up waitressing.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 boy age 8 and 1 girl age 12
What were your duties?I pick the children up from school and then do homework with them.
Sometimes I also lift their friends home as they are in a lift club.
Occasionally I am asked to take them to the dentist/doctor, a friends house,
extra mural activity, sports matches, etc.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Full time Negotiable
Part time Negotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?My friend referred me to the family I currently work for. I was very grateful for that as I’d always wanted to be an au pair but didn’t know where I could get the experience. I’ve always loved being around children and spent the whole of junior school wanting to become a foundation phase teacher.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?8 years old.
What activities are you involved in?I currently waitress at a restaurant called Greens in Constantia on weekends.
I love to exercise and do CrossFit. In my spare time I like to read and cook/bake.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy reading, swimming, exercise and training, building puzzles and spending time with friends and family.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Watching them learn new things and grow and mature. Even though you
are just their au pair, you still feel proud of them.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Trips to the beach, going for walks, spending time outdoors and reading.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depending on what kind of emergency it is I would either apply the first aid training
which I have or contact emergency services straight away and then parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The most difficult situation would have to be when the childrens mom forgot to
give them the house keys and we were locked out. I then contacted the mom
and asked if the children would like to spend the day at my house instead
until the parents finished work and could pick them up or I could drop them off.
What is your approach to discipline?I’m strict with homework, I like to get it done after the children have had a short
break or snack after getting home from school. After that I am relaxed and will
play or help the children with any activities. I’ve never shouted at a child before as I feel
it’s never been necessary.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Try and distract them by showing them something/ignore them until they stop. Don’t shout
at them that just makes it worse. Just wait for them to stop, they will soon realise that you are not paying them any attention.  Carry on with whatever you are doing, but keep an eye on them.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Tell them that walls are for keeping the house together, if they want to draw they
must do so on paper.  Ask them to help you clean it and show them how difficult
it is to clean so they won’t do it again.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Try and find out why they are refusing to do it. Sometimes it is because they don’t
understand the work so they are too scared to try it.  Offer to play a game while doing
the homework. Make the homework time fun.    
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?From about 6 years old until late teens.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I still au pair for Frances Currie.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?At first I am quite reserved but after getting to know you I come out of my shell. I am someone who never gets bored and could spend hours hiking and exercising or hours sitting on the couch immersed in a book. I am very neat and organised.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastOats and honey, Cereal/scrambled eggs
LunchA healthy sandwich and some fruit
DinnerRoast chicken and vegetables
SnackFruit and yogurt
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My father, Victor, is retired and my mother, Sharon, works at Groote Schuur Primary
School as the Financial Administrator. I have an older brother named Ryan who is 24.
He finished his teaching degree last year and is now teaching grade 5’s at Kronendal
Primary School in Hout Bay. I have 2 border collies, Storm and Bella, 1 cat named
Bagheera who I’ve had since I was 3 years old and 1 rat. We are all animals lovers
all of our pets are considered part of the family.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.