Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Manuela

Personal Details

Reference # 201-4543
Name Manuela
Nationality South African
Age 30
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English and Portuguese

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Mazda 323 hatchback 1994
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Got got license (June 2009) but have been driving with dad since the age of 17

Education

Secondary EducationBedfordview High- 2007
First aid TrainingNo
Other trainingSales part time but no childcare training

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2007 to present, have not left yet as I still attend the church
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?2007: 5 kids (2 boys approx 5/6 and 3 girls approx 13/7/3) 2009: 11 kids (6 girls 15 ; 9 ; 5; 5;11;6) (5 boys: 8; 8; 9; 12)
What were your duties?Oversee the children whilst parents are in the church service. Keeping them busy with activities and supervising them on the playground
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2004 to present: I haven't left due to the fact that if Mrs Cardoso needs my assistance and am still been available.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?4 children (2 boys: 4 and 9 and 2 girls: 11 and 6). The youngest one was not even born, ages when started 2; 5; 9
What were your duties?Supervised homework, took them on fun and adventure trips, ensured that they were bathed and ate before mum got home. Weekdays 3pm to 6pm and weekends whenever my services were required.
  

Reference 3:


Reference 4:


Reference 5:


Reference 6:


Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg South
Johannesburg West

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?It wasn't planned, my mums friend referred me to a lady at church and I saw it as good opportunity to earn pocket money. I love children and it will give me an opportunity to study as well.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?New born.
What activities are you involved in?None at the moment but I want to start ballroom dancing this year still.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Scrap booking, candle making and decoupage.
What are your interests?Party planning; decor and interior decorating
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Their spontaneous imaginations and they way we relate as adults because of the things we discuss. Dressing them up especially the girls, having these kids around you - you don't really need lots of friends - they become your family and friends.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Scrap booking; shopping; baking with them; dancing competitions
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Call the emergency numbers (parents; cops; police patrol etc). Calm the children depending on the situation. It really depends what the situation is - some is more drastic than others (medical or security)
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?When the parents got divorced. I did not get involved but always told the kids that their parents love them more that they could ever think
What is your approach to discipline?Discipline should be what the parents dictate. However with holding privileges  always helps.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?At home: I also throw the same tantrum and this normally causes them to keep quiet, but depends on the child. In Public: Threaten to never take them out again
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Explain to them that it is a waste of talent as someone has to wipe it off and if they had drawn on paper we could frame it and sell it
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Find out what the reason is and if its blatant laziness apply withholding of privileges.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with? Any age.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes if Mrs Cardoso needs my services, and at the church every Sunday
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Trustworthy, reliable, caring, punctual, honest, team player, fun, loving and out going, good judge of character and not easily led.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastDepends on family and the kids, but in general: Cereals or yogurt and fruit. Hot breakfast - scrambled eggs, bacon, and toast
LunchDepends on the family and kids, but in general: Tuna/cheese/chicken salad roll; hot dogs or burgers, potatoes chips, vegetables
DinnerSpaghetti bolognaise, fish and chips, bangers and mash, vegetables, rice, curry
SnackDepends on the family again, but in general: Peanut butter on Marie biscuits or cookies with milkshake, chips
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I come from a family of 4. One brother (15yrs) and parents who are still very happily married. My dad is a fitter and turner. My mum is a caterer and also makes wedding dresses. We are from a typical Portuguese family where there is always food and people in the house. My brother plays soccer for Wits under 18´s. We've recently started going to the theatre and we love it. We also have birds (budgies) and 2 dogs.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.