Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Colleen

Personal Details

Reference # 201-44431
Name Colleen
Nationality Zimbabwean
Age 47
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st),IsiNdebele (1st),Shona (1st) Xhosa(2nd), Isizulu (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Corolla 160i GLE 1998
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?April 2013

Education

Secondary EducationMarist Brothers High in Dete - 1990
Tertiary Education

Diploma in Education - University of Zimbabwe (1998)

Chilton Au pair Training Course - ECD - completed August 2014

First aid TrainingChilton First Aid and CPR - completed August 2014
Other trainingRed Cross Children´s Hospital.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2008 to 2013. Retrenchment as child was grown up.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One child a boy,was 3 years old when I started.
What were your duties?
  • Taking care of Oliver.
  • Designing and carrying out activities to do with Oliver to Helping him develop well
  • Cleaning Ollies room and play area
  • Washing for Ollie
  • Ironing
  • Taking Ollie to playdates
  • Sometimes collecting Ollie from school

What I learnt on this job was ,how to care for toddlers from 3 years to 8 years,

How to win a child when he does not want to take part in difficult activities.

Helping a child to feel independent and feel happy to go out on a play date in the absence of her parents. I also learnt how to prepare chi

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2004 to 2008; the family emigrated to Australia.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children, a boy and a girl, the boy was 4 and the girl not yet born when I started.
What were your duties?
  • Taking care of both children,Cleaning
  • Ironing
  • Feeding
    Doing activities with the children

In this position I gained experience in having good rapport with the family that I worked for.I had experience in feeding babies and toddlers,I also gained experience in preparing milk for the baby after she was born and cleaning and sterelization of the

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving02/2014 to 03/2014. It was a two months contract
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you s

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

Since when have you been involved in caring for children on a professional basis?As a teacher since 1993.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Working with children is not like other jobs, every day is a new experience. I never get bored and love what I do. 
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest children I have cared was 4 weeks old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I used to help out at an orphanage in Khayalitsha. 
What are your interests?I enjoy cooking and reading.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I enjoy their positive energy and watching them grow and knowing I am part of it. I love seeing the steps they go through from infancy to adulthood.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I love painting, colouring and outdoor games.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I don't remember having any experiences that I couldn't easily handle. 
What is your approach to discipline?I believe in talking to them calmly about whatever needs to be spoken about or using time out. 

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would be calm, I would leave the child to calm down and when they have started to calm down I would provide a distraction.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would talk to them, letting the child know we only draw on paper and explaining why we do not draw on walls. 
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would talk to the child, give them sometime to do something fun with a deadline. For example stating okay do what you want to do for 10 minutes and lets do it together after that. 
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Age groups I enjoy most are definitely infants and then from around 3 or 4 years old up to around 9 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I currently facilitate and au pair for a partially blind girl.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I do not have any children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I'm a fun loving person, I am passionate, loving and kind.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I can cook with a recipe book.
BreakfastCereal
LunchPotatoes, vegetables and chicken nuggets
DinnerFresh chips, vegetables and chicken or a pasta
SnackSavory biscuits, rice cakes, fruit, and cheese.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I feel uncomfortable cooking fish as I have not had experience cooking it.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have 5 children aged between 23 and 2 years old (2014). I am married. My husband runs a shuttle service. 

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.