Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Brittany

Personal Details

Reference # 201-44035
Name Brittany
Nationality South African
Age 24
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English(1st) Afrikaans (2nd) understand a little German

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Polo Vivo 2013
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2012

Education

Have you completed matricGr 11
Secondary Education
Woodridge College, East London Management Equivalent
Tertiary Education
Grade 11 has been completely through Cambridge University UK
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2013 – February 2014. Luanne is now able to spend more time at home with her children and no longer requires me to au pair.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Gabrielle - 16, Jarryd - 14, Sinead - 11 and Ethan - 2
What were your duties?I worked flexi hours. We agreed on hours on a daily basis. Every morning I would take the kids to school, fetch them after school and take them to their extra mural activities, swimming and sports events, friends, etc. I would also assist with homework when needed as well as playing games, painting, walking the dogs with the girls, etc.I occasionally prepared lunch or snacks for the kids.I had a very good relationship with the oldest daughter, we were like sisters. I would also often go out over the weekends with them and take them on outings. I had an open and straight forward relationship with Luanne. She gave me a lot of leeway to do things the way that I wanted to and this worked well. The kids and I got on and we did too. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula
False Bay
West Coast
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2013.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I started working for a family in my home town of East London and I really enjoy it.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?2 years old
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?In my spare time I enjoy cycling, going to the gym sometimes, photography, I enjoy recording music, making jewellery, painting, going to art festivals and galleries.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I like being able to influence a child in a positive way and know that I can help assist a child grow to be a better human of the future.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Board games, painting, going to the beach, walking the dogs, making different arts & crafts, assisting with the help of musical instruments or sport activities of the children's choice.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?In the case of an emergency I would make sure firstly that the children are safe, as well as myself, and then I would immediately contact the parents or the police depending of the nature of the emergency.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The most difficult situation I have encountered was when Ethan, one of the children I au paired for, didn't get his own way and he held is breath until he passed out. Fortunately, I know mouth to mouth resuscitation, and I was able to bring his breath back. I tried my very best to stay calm the entire time. I told one of Ethan's sisters to phone his mother while I was assisting him and she was home shortly after the incident.
What is your approach to discipline?I feel disciple should be firm and enforced but only verbally.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would hold them, calm them down, speak nicely to them or try to provide distractions in order to get them to calm down. I would then try to establish what the problem is and deal.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would give the child the necessary equipment to clean the drawings off the wall themselves and assist if necessary. 
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would use removal of privileges homework is complete. I find star charts and other reward systems work well.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?2-17
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a confident, bubbly & enthusiastic young lady. I´m always smiling. I take my work seriously and I am always on time. I can handle many tasks at once as well as get work done on time. I´m skilled in many fields and I´m a quick learner. I´m well spoken and can handle almost any situation I am put in with ease.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastFrench toast, hash browns, eggs, flap jacks
LunchChicken nuggets, chips, veggies, mash
DinnerPasta, salads, chicken breasts
SnackFruit salad, pecan pie, cookies, sandwiches
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?mushrooms and red meat
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I come from a city in the Eastern Cape called East London. I´m from a little family of 4. My mother, Paula. My father was Daniel, but he passed away earlier this year, myself & my sister Danica, she is 21. My mom works at a civil engineering firm as a bookkeeper/general office manager. My sister lives on a farm where she grows her own food as well as makes different edibles which she sells at the organic product & food store she works at, Lime Fushion. My mom, sister & I have a very close-knit relationship and my family is very important to me.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.