Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Kiera

Personal Details

Reference # 201-43575
Name Kiera
Nationality South Africa
Age 28
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2007 Opel Corsa
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2012

Education

Secondary Education
Table View High School - 2009
Tertiary Education
UNISA - Currently studying child development psychology-(started 2013)
First aid TrainingYes, however it has expired

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJune 2012 - July 2013, I left because I moved to Durban for a year.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Children, a boy age 6 and  and a girl aged 10.
What were your duties?I would fetch the children from school, doing homework, making lunch, playing creative games and outdoor activities, taking children to parties and on outings and also doing recreational activities with them and helping them with their sports by playing in the garden with them as I am also very active and sporty. I cooked dinner every night for the children.I was part of the family. I really enjoyed working with this family. I was devastated to have to leave. 
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2014- June 2014, came back to Cape Town
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?300 kids a week, 2 years old to 6 years
What were your duties?I was the head coach. I coached them in fundamental skills for sport, throwing, kicking, catching, stance, balance, hand eye co ordination, fine motor control. 
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving January 2012 to June 2012, I was not earning enough and then I was offered my au pair role.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I worked with children from grade 0 to grade 7, the average class size ranged between 14 and 120 children per class.
What were your duties?Sports Coach For: Elkanah Junior, Senior and High School and Parklands College Junior and Senior School Athletics Coach, Coaching all ages from 4 to 13, Swimming Coach, Coaching all ages from 6 to 13, Physical Training Coach (PT) Coaching all ages from 4 to 16,  Softball Coach, Coaching u10 to u13, Netball coach, Coaching all ages from 4 to 13, Hockey Coach, Coaching all ages from 4 to 13. Soccer coach,and tennis coaching.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingDecember 2010 to December 2011
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 Children, 3 boys, ages 7, 13 and 15
What were your duties?This was a live in role, looking after them and supervising, making breakfast, lunch boxes, lunch and dinner, taking and fetching to and from school, assisting with homework, keeping them entertained with different activities, outdoor and indoor (depending on the weather), taking to and from extra mural activities, walking the dogs for the family and including the children to come with, light household cleaning for the family and picking up after the children, babysitting on occasional evenings when required. I am still in contact with the family today. I loved this role. It was an incredible experience as a first au pair role. The job was demanding, however I loved every second. I always went the extra mile and was accepted and treated as part of the family, which I loved. I hope to visit them again in the future. 
  

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leavingJune 2010 to December 2010
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One boy aged 3
What were your duties?Taking to and from day care, making lunch and cooking dinner for him, baby sitting most evenings, keeping him entertained with recreational games like building blocks and puzzles and colouring in books and out door games etc.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been involved in caring for children since January 2010.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I love children and when I finished school at the end of my first year out of school. I went to live in Holland to au pair. I am very passionate about children and working with children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?13 months
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I study in the mornings, I play soccer for a club, I love the beach and i love to surf, I am very family orientated so I love spending time with my family and my close friends and occasionally I like to play tennis with my best friend twice a week.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?Helping children grow into good adults, helping them make the right decisions in life and most importantly making sure they are always happy and ready to take on any challenge they want or may face in life. I love their little spirits and I love being apart of their growth as little adults. I see myself as a big sister there to help, guide and have fun with.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Outdoor activities (personal favorite) recreational activities, old school games like hide and go seek, stuck in the mud etc, basically it depends on the parents and the children. I'm very easy going and I can adapt to anything and I am always willing to try new things.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?That depends on the situation and what the parents would prefer me to do. That is always the first question I ask the parents. so basically I will do what they would suggest if an emergency had to occur.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?My 6 year old boy was playing at a friends house and he fell and cut open his chin and the mother phoned me because I was at home with my other child, so I went to go fetch him and I took him to the mediclinic as his mother told me to do in case anything ever had to happen and I contacted both of his parents and they came to the mediclinic and I stayed with the family while waiting for him and then we all went home together.
What is your approach to discipline?It depends on the parents approach to discipline, I would handle it the way they would so I do not step over any line. Also a first question I would ask when meeting the family.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would try calm him down and if the child continues I would put the child in a naughty corner where I could still see him or her and I would try explain why he or she has been put in the naughty corner.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would give the child a piece of paper and explain that we rather draw on paper than on walls because its not good to write on walls and that their parents wouldn't be very happy about it but I would make sure that the child understands.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would ask the child what they would rather do instead for eg: play a game and I would say first homework and then we can play a game and I would explain why it is important to do all his or her homework. I would try make it as fun as possible.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any age groups from 13 months to 13 years of age.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I would say I am very energetic, very bubbly, I am outgoing, I love to have fun but I also can be serious. I am easygoing and I'm always happy and enjoying life. I would say I'm a down to earth free happy spirit.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScrambled eggs
LunchToasted sandwiches
DinnerPasta or chicken nuggets or whatever there is to cook and what the parents would like their children to eat I will cook it.
SnackFruit, meat sticks, vienna's. Also what the parents suggest.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I love cooking everything and anything and I love learning new recipes.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.We are a small family but we are very close, there are 4 of us, I have an older brother who is 5 years older than me and we are very close like best friends. My mom and dad are divorced but they are friends and they are both happy in committed relationships with lovely partners.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.