Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Carrie

Personal Details

Reference # 201-42955
Name Carrie
Nationality South African
Age 33
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Kia Picanto 2005 - Blue
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes, 3 in the back
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2007

Education

Secondary Education
Rustenburg High School for Girls-2004
Tertiary Education

Stellenbosch - BA Humanities -  2008

University of Cape Town  -Post Graduate Certificate in Education - 2009

University of Cape Town - Honors in Environmental and Geographical Study  - 2014

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingApril 2010 - April 2011. I then went to Korea, came back and started April 2013 until December. I left Table View High School to further my studies at the University of Cape Town .
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?High school children - Gr8 to Gr12
What were your duties?I taught English at Table view high school. My first language groups were from grade 8 to 11 and my matric class I taught English as a second language. 
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingCompletion of work contract (South Korea) August 2011 - October 2012. I was on a 12 month contract. I stayed on for an extra 2 months. Went traveling in Europe and returned to South Africa.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Small classes (8 students + ) 6 years - 15 years.
What were your duties?Teaching English as a foreign language to the grade  as a second language. This was an academy school. Classes ran from 2pm to 9pm on weekdays and after school in the morning, the children would come to the academy where they would continue their education until late. I really enjoyed this role. The principle was amazing. Very passionate about teaching and the children at the school.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingSince 2009 on occasion  whenever required, I still assist on occasion.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Two boys, from new born.
What were your duties?Babysitting, feeding, bathing, bedtime.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been involved in child care since 2010.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I felt that it was something i could manage while I continue my studies. I enjoy it, I feel feel confident and comfortable with which allows me to continue to enjoy being around children, teaching them etc. 
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?From 2 years old professionally, newborn through experience with family and friends children.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy running, trail running and road running. I used to do ballet. I was also the youth delegate for the DA in the Kenilowrth area. I enjoy hiking, going away or spending time with family and friends. I also enjoy reading.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I love how easy they are to amuse. I love making them happy and without the complications of doing the same for an adult or older teens. They are free and I appreciate that energy. I  gauge great joy from teaching them an watching them grow as individuals.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I like to share my interests with them. I enjoy walks, going on outings, museums, art and being active. If home bound I encourage imaginary play and come up with new fun games. 
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would assess the situation, I would call for assistance immediately. 
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have not had a really difficult situation that I couldn't deal with.
What is your approach to discipline?I am quite firm yet compassionate. I listen, I try to understand why they have a problem and then approach the situation based on this. I believe in consequences and work with the family. I try to adhere to the families way of doing things as well.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would try to find out why there was a problem, keep my voice soft, I would give the child space, I would try not to entertain their behavior. I would attempt to provide distraction and once they have calmed down chat to them about the problem. The main thing would be to remain calm. 
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would take the crayon away, find out why the child is drawing on the wall, explain that it is wrong and how to go about it in future. I would get them to try to clean it off. 
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would use a reward system. I would break the work down into attainable small goals. Assist them to do the homework and state that for each section completed we would take a break and have a reward of some sort, do something fun or play a quick game. 
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any age group.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, I volunteer and work for an NGO called Activate Change Drivers.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am dedicated, well rounded, I am reasonable and mature. I am quite outgoing. I enjoy getting out of my comfort zone. I am a social activator. I love people. I am generous with my time and resources. I am a very caring individual. 
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal and Juice or fruit
LunchSandwich with a fruit, juice.
DinnerMash potato, fish fingers or chicken drumsticks, carrots, broccoli, just a well balanced meal with something from all the food groups,
Snackfruit, yoghurt, dried fruit, biscuits, raisins, sweets or chocolate occasionally.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I do not know how to cook seafood very well.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?My parents are still married and live in Klein William. I grew up in Botswana as they both are big into wild life conservation. I am extremely close to my family. I have 3 sisters. The oldest is 43, and is in media. The other is 40 and has 2 boys. Both her and her husband are teachers. Then it is myself and then my younger sister is studying for her masters in eEnvironmental management.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.