Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Mary

Personal Details

Reference # 201-42927
Name Mary
Nationality South African
Age 45
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (home language), Afrikaans (additional language)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Opel Corsa Lite 2007
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happened 
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2007

Education

Have you completed matricYes
Where did you attend highschoolClarendon Girls´ High School, East London (1992)
What was your passrate for MatricB Aggregate (70-79%)
Have you completed any other studies?If yes, what courses are you busy with or have you completed?

BA(Rhodes) English and Art Theory (1997)

BA Hons (Senior Phase and FET)(Unisa) in English(1999)

Post Grad (Unisa) Certification in Education (Senior Phase and further education and training)(2005) 

Masters in Education Philosophy in Applied Language and Literacy Studies (Education)(3 years)(graduated Dec 2013)

First aid TrainingYes, valid until MY 2017

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingSeptember 2007 to June 2010. I left to undertake my Masters back in South Africa.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I taught girls in Years 7 to 11 (ages 12 to 16) at Wesgreen International School in Sharjah in the United Arab Emirates (UAE)
What were your duties?I was teaching English language and literature (British curriculum)to around 20 to 25 girls per class across 5 grades. I think the girls themselves and getting to know them was very rewarding. There was a wide variety of cultures. It was challenging initially as even though it was International it was run with an Islamic ethos. One of the most rewarding initiative I implemented was the first school magazine and year book. The staff and I got on very well. We supported each other and learnt a lot together.  I am still in contact with many of my colleges today. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeR200 per hour as a tutor
Part timeR200 per hour as a tutor

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have five years of teaching/tutoring experience and I am qualified to tutor English up to Senior phase and 1 st year varsity level candidates.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested tutoring?I was (and am still) inspired by the interest, care and commitment of some of my own school teachers.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?I have taught children aged 6 years old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy drawing and painting; photography; reading and writing; knitting; cooking and baking; swimming; walking and hiking; and traveling. I have been tutoring across a broad age range, including teens and adults.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I enjoy setting goals with a child or teen and supporting them in achieving those goals. I feel privileged when I gain a young person´s trust and am able to gain an insight into their experiences and thoughts.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I have enjoyed working with teens on a number of creative projects, including producing a school yearbook. I always enjoy discussions, role play, creative writing and illustration.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I have had to assist learners who have felt dizzy or have fainted. I have asked those nearby to remain calm and to help. I have ensured that dizzy learners are comfortable (moved a learner to a shady spot, splashed water on their skin, given them water to drink) and later referred them to the school nurse. After a learner had fainted, I checked her breathing and pulse, and afterwards checked if she was alert or disorientated.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I take an interest in the well-being of my learners. I have continued to take an interest and be supportive of many of my learners, including a learner who was talented and did well at school, but was often unhappy, withdrawn and unwell as she was struggling with an eating disorder. I encouraged her to contribute creative writing and artwork to a magazine produced by learners, and to read about others´ similar experiences. She has now started university and is coping well.
What is your approach to discipline?I try to always model the actions that I would like learners to take. It is important that learners and I agree how we will always try to interact with each other. I word classroom rules positively rather than negatively, and I often draw learners´ attention to these. I praise learners´ efforts and achievements rather than focusing only on poor choices or problem areas. I aim to always be consistent in what I expect of all learners.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am most comfortable working with children and teens aged 12 and older, as well as with adults. I also enjoy working with primary school children.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I am currently tutoring English and education to a mature student studying education through UNISA.
Tell us about your tutoring philosophy?
 I first find out what the goals of the student are, then assess where they are in terms of their goals. I then work with the student to achieve these. I am methodical yet I bring in humor, I produce my own work and try to bring a creative aspect into my teaching and tutoring.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I do not.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am creative and resourceful; supportive and empathetic; and independent. I enjoy listening and talking to others, and laughing with them.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My parents and older brother live in East London though I do have some relatives who live in Cape Town. My dad is an architect with his own practice.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.