Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Claire

Personal Details

Reference # 201-41518
Name Claire
Nationality South African | British Passport
Age 28
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), French (3rd) Afrikaans (3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Corsa Lite 2006
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes please describe the accident and when it happenedN/a
How long have you been driving for?Since June 2010

Education

Have you completed matricYes
Where did you attend highschoolI attended Westerford High School (2009)
What was your passrate for MatricMy average for Matric was 80%.
Have you completed any other studies?If yes, what courses are you busy with or have you completed?I completed my Bachelor of Social Sciences degree at UCT in 2012 where I majored in Psychology and Sociology. I then went on to complete my Honors degree in Development Studies at UCT in 2013.
First aid TrainingYes, valid until November 2016

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI have done au pairing and babysitting for Megan since 2012 on an ad hoc basis. She has a full-time nanny therefore she does not need the services of an au pair or babysitter on a full-time basis.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Megan has two children, a girl who was 5 years old and a boy who was 2 years old when I started working for them in 2012.
What were your duties?In my capacity as a babysitter and au pair for this family I have overseen the children´s playtime, taken them on fun outings on the weekends, fetched them from preschool and prepared basic meals for them. Additionally I have bathed the two children and prepared them for bedtime. I would often assist the family when the dad was away, I would come in for a few weeks.
 

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI have done babysitting for Maria on an ad hoc basis between now and 2011.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Maria has four children, her eldest son was 12 when I started babysitting, her second eldest son was 7, followed by her 4 year old son and her 2 year old daughter.
What were your duties?Whilst babysitting I have had to supervise the children´s dinner, help with homework when necessarily, help the children get ready for bed and read bedtime stories to them.
 

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingI have done babysitting for Justine on an ad hoc basis since 2012.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Justine has two children, her eldest son was 8 when I started babysitting and her youngest son was 4.
What were your duties?When babysitting for Justine I would supervise the children´s play or TV watching before bed, help the children with their bedtime routine and read bedtime stories to them.
 

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2006 to December 2007. The dad was a pilot for Emirates and they had to move to Cape Town.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 2 girls, age 3 and 5 years old
What were your duties?This was an afternoon role, fetching from school, lifting to and from activities, preparing snacks and lunch, bathing and assisting in completing the little bit of homework that they had.
  

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leavingI did part-time au pairing for Huli between February 2011 and December 2011. I loved working for this family but unfortunately due to my studies at the time I could not continue working for them.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Huli has one daughter who was eleven years old when I started au pairing for them.
What were your duties?I would collect Huli´s daughter from school, t

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am          

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full time
Part timeBetween R1500 and R2500

Questions

Please tell us a bit more about the courses you are currently busy with, if any and also a bit more about where you see yourself in 5 years? I am currently doing my honours in Psychology. In five years time I see myself practising as an Psychologist. 
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I used to babysit for friends and family and we used to have so much fun. I found it the most rewarding.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for is 18 months. 
What activities are you involved in?I enjoy running and travelling,reading, swimming and love going to the beach. I love 4x4'ing.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?No, I am not working at the moment.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I think children give you so much without realizing. They enjoy life and see all the beauty there is. 
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Reading, colouring in, going to the beach, playing imaginary games, soccer, anything active and fun. 
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would assess the situation and how serious it is. Then call the medical numbers and then the parents. 
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Mom went on holiday, little boy broke his arm at school, I then went through and then I went with him to the hospital and stood by him and calmed him down.
What is your approach to discipline?I am firm but fair. I would discuss this with the parents. 

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Stay calm, don't get angry and don't shout. Calm them down, find out why they are having a tantrum, explain that it not the right thing to do.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would ask them to help me clean the walll and give them paper to draw on. 
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Compromise with the child, what is that the child wants to do. We can do 15 minutes of homework and 15 minutes of play. 
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Two to 12 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I do.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I do not have any children of my own. 
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am very energetic, I enjoy challenges, I am very family orientated.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I can.
BreakfastCereal, toast with marmite and cheese.
LunchSteamed veggies and chicken with rice.
DinnerMac and cheese, fish fingers and mash, chicken fingers or chicken schnitzels.
SnackFruit and yoghurt.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I don't like tripe.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My parents are divorced and live one km apart from each other. My brother is 18 years old studying at Stellenbosch.My mom is a teacher at Fish Hook high school and my dad retired.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.