Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Charlene

Personal Details

Reference # 201-41511
Name Charlene
Nationality South African
Age 33
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Etios, 2012 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2004

Education

Secondary Education
Fairbairn College - 2003
Tertiary Education

Graphic, Multimedia and Web Design and Development - 2004 & 2005

B.Ed (foundation phase) - UNISA - Current (1st year: 2013), (2nd year 2014)

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJuly 2013 until Present
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 boy, age 2 months.
What were your duties?Assisting on an adhoc basis. Feeding, diaper changes, bath time, bed time, full care over a period of 10 days where I trained him to sleep through the night, playing with him, age appropriate stimulation.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2005 to present
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 kids, the eldest was 3 years when I started and the other 2 were from new born.
What were your duties?Assisting on an adhoc basis. Feeding, diaper changes, bath time, bed time, homework supervision for daughter with ADHD,  playing with them, providing age appropriate stimulation, going on the occasional outing. Preparing dinner.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving2009 till present.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 boys age 6 and 8 years old when I started.
What were your duties?Cooking dinner, serving dinner, home work supervision, implementation of kumon maths program, assist in exam prep, in the beginning I assisted with bath time and bed time, tidying up etc. 
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingI started in September 2011 and finished 31 Jan 2012. The family had sold their house, and moved in with the grandmother and hence no longer required my services.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?The children were 9 years old, 5 years old and 6 months old.
What were your duties?I would arrive at 7 am or earlier, I would insure the school bags are packed, dress the kids, and take the children to school, I would then go back, look after the infant, I would do feeding, diaper changes, etc, he would go down for a nap, I would tidy, and sterilize bottles etc. I would then go fetch the older children, do homework, provide lunch, etc, I would provide activities for the older children. I would also do the runs to extra murals etc. We went on outings, and I would also take them to their appointments, etc, I would get them bathed, and feed the baby a bottle while the other 2 ate. I was required to do occasional shopping and run errands as well. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
False Bay
West Coast
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Ten years
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always wanted to work with children and started with being a Sunday School Teacher in 2004. I was a full time au pair for a period of 5 months. The family that I was working for sold their home before I was employed and when they were unable to find another home which suited their lifestyle they chose to move in with the grandmother and no longer required my services as their au pair. I am currently studying part time through UNISA to get my B.Ed (foundation phase) degree with the hopes of specializing in Inclusive Education for learners with educational difficulties.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?New Born
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?In my spare time I enjoy reading as much as possible, cooking & baking, ceramic painting, photography and photo editing. I try to spend as much time as I can with my family, be it having a family dinner once a week or just a quick coffee visit to catch up.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?Knowing that I have helped a child reach his/her full potential is one of the most rewarding part of childcare. All of the children that I have cared for over the years have a special place in my heart and I love them each as if they were my own.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Reading stories, baking, arts and crafts, playing outside and swimming.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would assess the situation, if it is not life threatening I would attend to it and report exactly what happened to the parents. In the case of a life threatening emergency I would immediately call the relevant emergency contact and the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?One of the girls who was attending the church´s Sunday School Camp had a diabetic drop and had a fit in the middle of the night. I ran to get her medication kit that was locked away and gave her glucose gel as well as coco pops to eat to help raise her sugar to a desirable level (as per her parents instructions). I kept a close eye on her during the rest of the night and by morning she was back to her cheerful and happy self.
What is your approach to discipline?I am firm but fair. I prefer to approach a manner of discipline that is in line to the parents preference, however I do not believe that as an au pair / babysitter I should ever be asked to give a child a hiding.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Depending on why the two year old is having the tantrum I would try to remove him/her from the environment that is causing the upset.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would put the 5 year old into a 5 minute time out (1 minute for each year of age), once the time out is over I would ask the 5 year old why they were drawing on the wall and then explain to them that what they were doing was wrong and to please not do it again. I would then get the 5 year old to help clean up the wall and once it is clean give the child a cuddle and then go to do another activity away from that area.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would try to find out why the 8 year old is not wanting to do the homework, more often than not it is because the child does not understand the work and I would then try to assist with whatever the child might be struggling with.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with all age groups.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I still work for all of my previous clients, except for the De Gouveia family for whom I was a full time au pair
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?None
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Patient, reliable, kind, honest, an excellent sense of humor, loyal.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastHam, cheese and mushroom omelette
LunchChicken and mayo pitas with salad
DinnerRoasted lamb chops with baked potato and veggies
SnackHomemade snack bars & Fresh fruit
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I enjoy all forms of cooking and learning how to prepare all types of food.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I come from a large family of 6 people (Mom, Dad & 4 daughters). However my father passed away in 2013 after a long illness. There is never a dull moment when we are all together and we are a very close knit family. We are all passionate about food and cooking and we try to have family dinner at least once a week if possible.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.