Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Shan

Personal Details

Reference # 201-41453
Name Shan
Nationality South African
Age 39
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Hyundi Getz 2007 seat belts all around.
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2000

Education

Secondary Education
Progress College - 1998.
Tertiary Education
IMM Marketing diploma through Varsity College - 2001
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingSept 2012 to December 2012. Child was going to be put into a special school where all his activities would be done at school so there was no longer a need for my services. The contract also ended.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children, 6 yrs old boy and 13 yr old girl.
What were your duties?My role revolved around the boy. Lifting him from school, taking him to speech therapy and helping with speech work, playing and looking after him. I would also do lifting for the daughter.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI currently still baby sit for Karen´s 3 kids, and I also help her at her play school when she needs me.
Number of children, age and gender of the children when you started?3 children aged 7, 9 and 12. I also assist on an adhoc basis at Karen's playschool with around 18 children, aged 2 years old upwards.
What were your duties?I assist her every second Sunday in a personal capacity, with her own children, making supper for kids, bathing looking after her kids occasionally she will also ask me to assist her in the care of of the children at their play school.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingI still babysit her 2 yr old son, and help bath etc. From June 2013 to present. 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 child, a boy aged 2 years old
What were your duties?Adhoc baby sitting,  feeding, playing, reading, putting to bed.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingLauren owns Child minders I have been working for her clients baby sitting and day time au pairing for a while now and she will be closing the agency end of April this year. I was listed with them in January 2014.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?10 kids all ranging from 6 yrs old to 14 yrs old.
What were your duties?Adhoc babysitting for Child Minders, bathing, feeding, bottles, bed time, playing, shopping, errands, etc.
  

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leavingCurrently I baby sit his 2 kids in Houtbay and the kids have stipulated that they will not have anyone else to look after them but me
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 kids, 7 and 10.
What were your duties?Very regular adhoc babysitting service. I normally arrive at around 6pm, prepare or serve dinner. Insuring they bath, and persuade them to go to bed at the right time and do some reading.
  

Reference 6:

Period and reason for leavingI was facilitating a 12 yr old boy at vista nova school.. I left because the child no longer needed me.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 aged 12
What were your duties?Sitting in class and assisting in all the grade 6 subjects, taking him home and fetching his sister and doing home work.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I started babysitting in 2006.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?When I was studying marketing in 2001 instead of waitressing, because I adore kids I then joined a baby sitting agency where I looked after numerous families kids, many of whom were from the USA embassy and were in South Africa on temporary posts. I have loved children, taking care of them, watching them succeed and grow since I was very little. I enjoy looking after and engaging with kids.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?7 weeks
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I help at an upmarket Old Aged home lifting patients to Dr´s appointments, and taking them shopping, helping them walk.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?What I like most is the interaction with kids because they brighten up my day. Their energy is care free and I love helping them especially if they need help with difficult tasks because its an enormous sense of achievement.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Swimming, drawing, playing ball games, reading stories, telling funny stories and role play like drama, music.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I have access to a number of medical practitioners/nurses because I help at a 24 hour care facility. I live on the premise if they need help, so I would rush the child to the care place or the nearest hospital casualty to check them out. If it is a more immediate crisis like choking or a car accident I would immediately call for the ambulance. I would not move the child but I would check for breathing and any open wounds. Chocking I would attempt the Heimlich maneuver. For diabetics if there is an increase in blood sugar I would administer insulin, if a hypo situation I would keep glucose on me for immediate raise of blood sugar.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The most difficult situation I have encountered with a child I was facilitating for. He was obsessed with time and being finished with homework, instead of taking his time and answering things correctly, he would rush through it getting most of them incorrect. As a heightened anxiety child, I let him calm down and have a break for a few minutes. We would then attempt the work again without rushing. I also took him to the school psychologist and I had a meeting with all concerned to address this problem of pressure.
What is your approach to discipline?Firstly I would get advice from the parents, how they prefer their kids to be disciplined. I refuse to use any form of corporal punishment, anyone's child so I would never do that even if I was asked to. I tend to believe in taking away the things they deem important to them especially the cell phones, ipads etc. With little kids I am firm if they have a tantrum and try to distract with positive alternative activities to get the child mind of it

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Pick them up and try calming them down. show affection and love first.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Take the crayon away from him immediately and firmly say no that's not good mommy would be very upset.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Kids today need their diaries signed by the person doing home work with them or they will get into big trouble with the teacher. So I tend to say I wont sign your home work diary. If the child down right refuses to do his home work after i have had a reasonable chat to him about it then I will write it down and tell the mother. and come up with a plan with the family and the teachers if needs be.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Children aged from 5 to 12 years.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I baby sit for a few of my clients.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am an energetic fun loving person that always sees the funny side of life, I am positive and very kind sensitive and loving
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
Breakfasteggs, toast, porridge, cereal
LunchVienna´s, fish fingers, spaghetti bolognaise, veggies.
DinnerVeggies, rice, spaghetti or chicken, pasta dishes, fish or meat dishes.
SnackPeanut butter sandwich or any snack I'm asked to prepare.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Pork or ham.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I'm very close to my family, my mom and dad got divorced over 15 yrs ago. I'm closer to my mom but still have contact with my dad there are no stresses in my family just complete unconditional love, my mother is Adele Hoffman she is a qualified radiographer who now works for GE health care selling their contrast media to the cardiologists and Dr´s. My dad lives in sea point and is a book maker. My grand parents are amazing and we are very close they are over 90 with all their faculties in order. I have 3 aunties and loads of cousins which I see regularly. The all have young kids who I look after all the time.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.