Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

June

Personal Details

Reference # 201-40531
Name June
Nationality South African
Age 70
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans(2nd) English (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?No
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Cirion 2008
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?1967

Education

Secondary Education
Ellersleigh girls high school (1967)
Tertiary Education

U.C.T - Higher Primary Teacher’s Diploma -  1976

Post-Graduate - U.N.I.S.A. -Higher Education Diploma (Pre-Primary)  - 1983

Founder-Member of the “Tivoli” Volunteer Entertainment Group-1960-Current

Orff Schulwerk Pre-Primary Course (20 hours)- 1987

Cape Education Department - Co-operative Learning Course  -1994

Served on Management and Public Relations Committee of the Green & Sea Point Hebrew Congregation -1995-1997

Presented by the Department of Jewish Education and Culture, Jerusalem -Early Childhood Course attended in Jerusalem, Israel Israel -1997:

Participant in the Melton Foundations Course - Integration of the Arts E.C.D Course - 2013

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving

United Herzlia Pre-Primary Schools:
1995 - 2004: Anav Pre-Primary – Principal & Group Teacher
2005 – 2009: Gan-Aviv Pre-Primary – Group Teacher
2010 – Current:  Herzlia Pre-Primary Schools Music and Jewish Festivals Director (systemic)

I am still assisting.

Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?From 15 to 30 children per class, boys and girls, aged from 2 years to 6 years old. 
What were your duties?Teaching early childhood development, music, language, fine motor, gross motor skills, music appreciation, mime, dance, etc. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?40 years plus
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I knew what I wanted to do from the time I was in school. I went straight into studying and then teaching after school.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?From newborn upwards with my own children, professionally, with children from 2 years old and upwards.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I walk, jog and entertain seniors. I sing and I dance. I also belong to an entertainment group which goes to churches and senior halls. I have also done a few children´s workshops.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life? I love the interaction and being able to open a child´s eyes to the beauty of the world, listening to children.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Outdoor activities, being in nature, singing and dancing, arts and crafts, developing fine motor skills, puzzles and numerously and colours and shapes. I love playing language games, and puppet play.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would call the parents and then the doctors.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I wasn't actually caring for a child. I was sitting by the pool, and two classes came into the pool area under supervision of one teacher. I was sitting with my daughter and noticed one child had been underwater and appeared to be stuck. I gave my daughter to a friend and jumped in pool, clothes and all to save him. His arm was stuck in the pump, I shouted for them to switch it off, gave him oxygen, finally got him out and rescued him.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe in being firm but kind. I believe there should be boundaries and routine.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would leave the child to calm down. ait for them to finish sobbing and give them a hug, tell them they are loved.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I´d give them some paper and ask them to assist cleaning the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would find out why and deal with that issue. Whether they are tired, or hungry, thirsty etc. Encourage them with something positive.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?All ages.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I work for Hertzlia on Monday´s Wednesday´s and Friday´s in the mornings.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?I have 3 children, and 4 grandchildren. My youngest child is 23 (2014).
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Able to work under pressure; Able to meet deadlines; Ability to be part of, and manage a team; Planning and organizational skills, Work well independently and in a team; Problem-solving skills; basic computer skills; Ability to show initiative; Hard-working; Conscientious; Strong attention to detail; Dependable; Problem-solving and action orientated; Self-motivated; Honest; Reliable; Can identify strengths and weaknesses in others; Adaptability and Creative skills. I love music. I am very upbeat.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastJungle oats and fruit
LunchPasta, or sandwiches, fishcakes, mash, peas, carrot sticks, cucumber sticks
DinnerRoast chicken, or pasta, etc
Snackfruit snacks, veggie snacks
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Pork and shrimps and crayfish
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have 3 children. My son lives in Isreal and my daughters stay in Cape Town, I have 5 grandchildren, 1 boy and 4 girls.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.