Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Leanne

Personal Details

Reference # 201-40256
Name Leanne
Nationality South African
Age 34
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English(1st) Afrikaans (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Volkswagen, Polo Trendline, 2007
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes, with childlock.
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?Yes
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happenedI was trying to straighten my car up whilst going into a parking bay and nudged another car (2005). In a separate more recent event (2010), I was merging from 3 lanes into one, I was driving a vehicle where the bonnet of the car was quite long and I didn't realize how close I was to the vehicle in front of me.
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2005

Education

Secondary Education
Rustenburg High School For Girls-2003
Tertiary Education

ND: Nature Conservation and Biodiversity Management (Complete)

BTech: Nature Conservation and Biodiversity Management (Complete)

Cert: Journalism (Complete)

ICS 400: Logistics - Full ICS (Complete)

ICS 400: Basic Logistics (Complete)

ICS 400: Public Information Officer at Disasters/ Events (Complete)

Masters in Environmental Education (Currently BUSY)

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI have worked with Sarah adhoc for the past 8- 9 Years.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Children. One is 10 and the other is 7
What were your duties?Picking up children from school Helping the older child with homework Making dinner for them Getting them ready for bed or school
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
False Bay
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm        
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?10 - 12 years. I have baby sat a number of children from when I left school to date.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I was asked to babysit my immediate family´s children and from there I started assisting other families. I enjoy teaching children, and seeing them learn. I feel well equipped to provide this. 
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?3 years old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am an outdoor person, so when I do have time, I run, horse ride, surf, walk my dogs.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?Helping to teach them things, letting them explore and learn especially about nature.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Teaching them about nature, talking to them, reading to children. Helping them with homework. Playing sport, or allowing them to do art and crafts.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would check that the child/ren are fine. Stay calm, assess the situation. Call for help- first parents/ emergency services. Keep communicating with the child/ren. Get them to a place of safety.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The little girl I was looking after was not wanting to eat her food and was acting up. I tried to convince her to try a little before she tells me that she doesn't want to eat it. I then removed the food and sat to talk with the little girl. She was still unhappy, as she was extremely tired and had been upset at something her brother did. I then allowed her to have a 5 minute time out. Then I talked to her again. She eventually tried some of the food, although she did not like it. I waited until her mother returned home, whereby I explained the situation and then the mother took over.
What is your approach to discipline?I will try to talk or negotiate with a child if they are being unruly or unreasonable. If that does not work, then I will give them a time out and talk to them after they have finished in time out.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Allow them to throw the tantrum. Wait until they are quite finished and then give them a time out.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Calmly Take away the crayons, sit the child down next to the wall and explain that this is not acceptable behavior. Give them paper and the crayons back and put the child at a table to draw on the paper with the crayons. If the child persists, give them a time out.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Ask why they don´t want to do the homework. Take them for a little walk into the garden or into a non" homework space" and ask why it is they don´t want to do their homework. Explain to them why its a good idea to do homework. And after they have finished their work, allow them time to play.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?5 - 14 years.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?My sister in law and her family and my Sister when she is in South Africa.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Not Applicable
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a mature 29 year old, who is kind and patient, I enjoy the outdoors, but am equally at home in the indoor environment. I enjoy reading and research. I am a family oriented person and love my friends just as much. I love spending time with my animals and keeping fit.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEggs (Fried, poached, boiled) with cheese on toast, or a chopped fruit, yoghurt and museli. Otherwise good old toast with peanut butter and a mug of tea.
LunchFinger snacks- carrot, cheese, boiled egg/ cold meat, grapes or other available fruit, provitas. Or a healthy pasta with a light sauce.
DinnerFish and Chips or potatoes, chicken and steamed veg, bangers and mash or a veg option: veg lasagna.
SnackPopcorn, provitas and cheese, vegetable chips, flap jacks.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Prawns, liver, tripe, trotters, afval, beaks and feet.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am one of five children, I am also one of a twin- my twin resides in the UK, my Older sister resides in Monaco with her family and my two brothers are stillin Cape Town. Our family is very tight knit and we were brought up by two loving kind parents, who are exceptionally hardworking individuals and who i feel inspired each of us to always do our best.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.