Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Lisa

Personal Details

Reference # 201-39466
Name Lisa
Nationality South African
Age 28
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes, but requires renewal
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?No

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2005 White VW Golf
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2009

Education

Secondary Education
St George´s School for Girls, Edinburgh (2009)
Tertiary Education
I have an BA Honours Degree in International Relations from the University of Leeds. (Completed) July 2013
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJuly 2009 - December 2009 .I was on a gap year and only went for a fixed period.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I assisted in classes ranging from the nursery (from 4 years old) to the last year of school (18 years of age). The average class size was 15 to 20 children per class.
What were your duties?I worked in the boarding and day school, assisting in PE, history and science classes. I carried out boarding house duties and helped on school camps. I assisted with crafts and setting up activities for the younger classes.  I preferred working with the younger children as I found it more difficult to establish repoire with the older children as they were close in age to me.
Do you know the applicant? 

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Two years whilst at school, responsible as a Prefect for the first year in high school. I underwent Child Line training and completed the CSLA Award which allowed me to assist and teach younger students. I then worked in a private boarding school in Tasmania, in both the day and boarding school. I looked after and taught students from nursery age to school leavers.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I initially became involved during my time at school. As I enjoyed it so much, I went to Australia to be able to combine my love of traveling with looking after children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?4 years old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I recently worked at Career Junction and in my spare time I enjoy exercising, traveling and photography.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?Seeing a child grow and discover new things. I enjoy seeing that they are well cared for and watching them grow and flourish.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Baking, sports, drawing and craft activities..
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Try and immediately alleviate the problem. Failing that, if appropriate, I would seek medical advice and call the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The biggest problem in the boarding school was children feeling homesick. I attempted to comfort them by distracting them with fun activities, such as playing basketball or watching a film.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe it is important for a child to know the boundaries of acceptable behavior and to learn what is appropriate. I believe in being very clear as to what rules are, and explaining the consequences of not following rules. For example using removal of privileges etc.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I´d go down to their level and try and make them understand their behavior is unacceptable. I would then attempt to distract them to move them on.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would firstly vocalize that what they have is wrong and must never be done again. I would then make them help me to clear the mess up, whether that be through collecting a cloth for me or picking up any mess (I wouldn´t allow them near chemicals or anything that may harm them).
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would suggest that if they continue to refuse, I will remove some privileges from them.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I currently feel comfortable caring for children aged from 4 years to 12 years old. 
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a caring and friendly individual who gets on well with people. I am a hard worker who always carries out roles to the best of my ability.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEggs (any form) with soldiers/porridge/ bacon etc.
LunchSandwiches/soups/salads
DinnerFish fingers/pasta/stir fry
SnackApple and cheese/ carrots and hummous/ cut up peppers and cucumbers
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Curry
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am very close to my family and it is an integral part of my life. I have one brother who is currently working as a teacher with pre schoolers and toddlers in China and I really enjoy living with my mum and dad. My mom and dad both used to work for IBM. Whilst I was in the UK at university, we stayed in touch regularly through Skype and Whatsapp.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.