Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Charon

Personal Details

Reference # 201-39073
Name Charon
Nationality South African
Age 62
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) Afrikaans (1st) Hebrew (basic)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?No
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2001 RENAULT MEGANE
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?1983

Education

Secondary Education
Grade 11 - Bridgetown High School - 1973
Secondary Education

Data capturing course - 1981

Chilton Au pair Placement and Training first aid and CPR training (Expired)

Chilton Au pair Training Course

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingAugust 2003 to December 2004
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 infant, aged 4 months old.
What were your duties?This role was in Israel.  I ran the household, looked after the daughter, and did the cooking in the home.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2014 to August 2014, the mother is caring for the children now, this was a temporary role while the mom was away.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 boys age 18 months and 5 years old
What were your duties?I went to fetch them from creche, I would then make them a snack, we will then go to the park, or go for a walk, we would then get back and do reading and play games, I would then bath them and cook them dinner.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2013 to November 2013, They went away to George, and while away their home burnt down, they could not take me back and were living in a guest house until April 2014. I was also looking for a more permanent role. 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 girl, age 6 years old at the time.
What were your duties?I would get there at 2pm, I would play with the girl, assisting with homework, doing the cooking, doing imaginative play, keeping the room tidy.I had a lovely relationship with Zelda and am still in contact with them. 
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingApril 2009 to October 2010, I had to go for hysterectomy and would be out of commission for 6 months.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 down syndrome boy, age 18 years old, paralyzed 60 year old and an elderly dad age 80.
What were your duties?I lived in with the family. I had to take care of all of them. I had to bed bath the mom, I cooked for them, did the shopping, I did everything for the family, running of the house. I gave medications, run errands, etc.
  

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leavingMay 2007 to December 2008. I left to go and do some traveling.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 girl, age 5 1/2 months old
What were your duties?Childcare, cooking and housekeeping. I did the washing and the cooking. Entertained the child, changing diapers, feeding, putting her down for naps, bathing etc.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?13 years.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always been caring for children and animals and people and it metamorphosed into providing childcare.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?4 months in a professional capacity and from new born in a private capacity.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Reading and walking. I also do embroidery. 
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I love everything about children, the questions they ask and the answers they give you, their energy and their ability to immerse themselves in a world of imagination.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Acting out nursery rhymes, dancing, story telling, walking, for new babies, I love massaging them, I am good at them, art and cooking.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency? Call for attention to whomever and then apply first aid if necessary.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have never had a very difficult situation.
What is your approach to discipline?Whatever the parents recommend between the au pair and the children.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Try to speak to the child in a calm way so as to understand and calm the child.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Speaking to the child in a calm way and explain why what he is doing is not right.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Calm the child and tell child the positive side of education that necessitates doing home work.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any age group, male or female.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes, two married children and 3 grandchildren.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Calm, reliable, caring and dedicated. I am vibrant and talkative. I am a mother to everyone. I am very compassionate.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal, toast, eggs
LunchSalad, sandwich
DinnerLasagnes, shepard pie, curry, stew, roasts
Snackfruit, biscuits, yoghurt
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am a mother with 2 married children living on their own and have 3 grand children between them.  We like doing family activities together and I take care of the grand children when necessary.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.