Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Melindi

Personal Details

Reference # 201-39072
Name Melindi
Nationality South African
Age 2019
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) Afrikaans (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2010 VW POLO
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?February 2010

Education

Secondary Eduaction
Midstream College (2009)
Tertiary Education

Unisa - 3rd year - LLB through (2014)

TEFL course

First aid TrainingNo

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingAugust 2010 - December 2012, I went to Thailand to teach English.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 boy age 10
What were your duties?Picking up from school, go home, make lunch, go on an outing or swim, or go to movies, or to friends.I would assist with homework as well.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2013 to March 2013, April 2013 to September 2013. I had to come back to South Africa to write exams, and couldn't go back again.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Anything from 3 to 18 years old.
What were your duties?I did teaching and tutoring of English to children of all ages and grades.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

PRETORIA
Pretoria Central and West
Pretoria Centurion
MIDRAND
Midrand

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?In 2010.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I started off helping with my little sister. I found I enjoyed it and decided to try au pairing as not only does it mean I can study, but I get to do something I enjoy to make extra income.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?3 years old
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I keep active I go to gym and I do Moitai
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I like baking, cooking, walking the dogs, swimming, playing sports etc.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would calm him down and call emergency services.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I had a tough time assisting with the 10 year old from my au pair job. The parents had just divorced, and he hadn't handled it well. He used to throw tantrums, ripping up his homework or throwing things, I would just remain calm, give him a hug and try to figure out what was really going on with him.
What is your approach to discipline?I prefer using removal of privileges, or building towards goals to gauge compliance from kids. I respect them, and generally find they respect me.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would ignore them until they calm down.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would let the child clean it up and explain why we don´t draw on walls.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would find out what the problem is, try to assist or make it fun. Maybe take a break and go run outside.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?From 4 years to 12 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am energetic, friendly, hard working and trustworthy.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEggs and bacon, toast
LunchPasta or toasted sandwiches
DinnerBolognaise, schnitzels, roasts, stir fry etc.
SnackFruit, yoghurt, biscuits with cheese, etc
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have a younger sister who is now in Gr.8. My parents are both in IT. WE are very close and talk about everything.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.