Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Kayla

Personal Details

Reference # 201-38844
Name Kayla
Nationality South African
Age 29
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Fiat Palio 2003
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2009

Education

Secondary Education
Fish Hoek High School -2008
Tertiary Education

Modern Dancing teachers diploma - the association of International Willard  Dance Teachers -2009  

Bachelors in Occupational Therapy - Stellenbosch university - 2014 -(3rd year student)

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2013 - December 2013. I went back to full time studying.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 girls, aged 4 and 6 years old.
What were your duties?Fetching the girls from school,. Assisting with homework. engaging the girls in educational games and activities, preparing school lunches for the following day and other meals like lunch or occasionally dinner if the parents were working late.  Organising and accompanying the girls to extra murals, play dates and parties, fun and messy play, painting, baking, play dough, dancing, outdoor games, and swimming. 
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2006/2007- present
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?boys, age 3, 5 and 7 years old.
What were your duties?babysitting, preparing dinner, doing homework, insure they bathed, reading bedtime stories, etc.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2009 to December 2012. I had class in the mornings, and started au pairing in the afternoons.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Children aged 4 years to 15 years of age, in groups of 3 to 15.
What were your duties?I gave dancing classes, modern and tap dancing classes. I was an assistant producer in shows, with involvement in choreography, costume and set design and teaching of dancers.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2010 to December 2010, I started studying.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?4 girls aged, 18 months to 3 years old.
What were your duties?I was running my own daycare. I had started originally when approached by two moms.
  

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leavingAugust 2011 to December 2011, personal reasons
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 girl
What were your duties?I was traveling between Cape Town and Knysna looking after a 4 year old girl, living with the family who had businesses all over the country. I made food, read books, watched movies, went shopping, driving, fetching from school, taking her to extra murals etc.I traveled a lot with the family. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm      
12pm-6pm        
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been babysitting for others since 2005.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Twins, from 4 months old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I love being outdoors, going on hikes, I love cooking and dancing, spending time with friends and family.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I love children's energy and their acceptance. One can be silly in front of them. I am also fascinated by their fine and gross motor development and seeing them learn. I enjoy working with them one on one, you can tailor your time to what interests the child specifically versus, being in a classroom where the child has to comply with what is being taught.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Dancing, baking, painting, and outside play, building sand castles, swimming, and educational games. 
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?With a level 5 I would be capable of dealing with any medical emergency.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I was in Seapoint with the twins, we had gone to the park. The one boy fell and cut his elbow. They were both crying (aged around 2 at the time). I got them both to the car, took them home, dressed the wound, gave him a bottle to calm down and phoned his mom.
What is your approach to discipline?I prefer to reason with a child. Where necessary I will employ time outs, whereby I explain to the child why they are going to time out, usually after around 3 warnings for the same behavior, I then will put them in for 1 minute per year of age, ask them to explain to me why they were there afterwards and explain that it is not them that was the problem, but that the behavior was the problem.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would leave the child to carry on until he or she was done with the tantrum.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Explain that we don't draw on walls and ask them to help clean it up.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would try to establish why the child does not want to do homework and explain why it is a good idea to do homework. I like to use reward systems for this age group as well. 
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any ages.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I do babysitting for my au pair family.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I'm fun, outgoing, spontaneous, responsible and honest.
Can you cook?
Yes
Breakfastoats or scrambled eggs, or museli, it depends on what the child likes
Lunchfresh foods, like fruit, bananas, yoghurt, sandwiches
DinnerPastas, curry, stews, soups, roasts, etc
Snackfruit or crackers, nuts.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I don't personally eat red meat, but I don't have a problem cooking it.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?I live with my mom who is an art teacher and social worked. My dad lives in PE and has a training college where they teach first aid. I am the oldest of 5 siblings. I have a 9 year old , 11 year old, 19, year old and 21 year old siblings.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.