Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Alicia

Personal Details

Reference # 201-38817
Name Alicia
Nationality South African
Age 32
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans (1st), English (2nd but fluent)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?No
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Tazz 1600
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2005

Education

Have you completed matricYes
Where did you attend highschoolStellenberg High School
What was your passrate for MatricC average
Have you completed any other studies?If yes, what courses are you busy with or have you completed?

Exemption studies - Heergenoote college (Wellington) Unisa- Bachelors degree in Social work (2009 to present) I take 5 subjects a year in order to work and complete the degree simultaneously

Educare au pair course covering first aid, baby and child care techniques, safety in and around the home, developmental stimulation, nutrition for babies and children

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingAugust 2011 to December 2011, personal reasons
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 girl
What were your duties?I was traveling between Cape Town and Knysna looking after a 4 year old girl, living with the family who had businesses all over the country. I made food, read books, watched movies, went shopping, driving, fetching from school, taking her to extra murals etc.I traveled a lot with the family. 
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingAssisting since 2012, to current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children age 7 and 10 when I started.
What were your duties?Adhoc babysitting. Meal prep, entertaining them, putting them to bed.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJuly 2013 - present
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children, a boy age 8 and a girl age 10
What were your duties?Go to school with the boy who has Hydrocephalus at his special needs school, sit in class with him, clean him, feed him, play with him and educate him. Fetch the girl from school, take her to activities, check homework and help swim with them and take them on outings and bake with her.  
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs
False Bay
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am          

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeprefer not to work full time work due to studies
Part timeR 6500pm

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2011
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I love children. Its why I am studying social work. They believe in fantasy and are fun to be around.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?4 years old
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I like fishing, being outdoors. I enjoy reading. No other jobs at present.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I enjoy the fact that they will do anything fun, I love playing games, and find it very rewarding when a child learns something from me.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Playing puzzles, going for walks, playing games, swimming. I love playing games, going skating etc.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would first deal with the situation, call the parents if it is not to bad, or an ambulance if it is.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I go with the child I am currently looking after to school. He has Hydrocephalus (water on the brain) I left the class to go to the toilet briefly. The teacher had not kept an eye on him (It is a special needs school) and he had stood up and fallen and chipped his tooth. He hurt himself. When I returned I saw what happened, consoled him, cleaned him up and hugged him until he calmed down.
What is your approach to discipline?I think it is very important, I go with the parents directions.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I just ignore the behaviour. I find that children cannot carry on for a long time in that state, eventually calm down and we can carry on.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I will explain why we can´t draw on the wall, provide paper and draw with the child. If he/she does it again, I will ask that he/she helps me clean it off or goes on timeout.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I will explain why it's important. I will try to make it fun for them. Maybe he doesnt understand the work, so I would be there to help him.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?From 4 to around 14 or 15.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I am currently still working for a family.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I'm a fun, caring and empathetic person. I can be serious at times. I like routine and a schedule. I am reliable. 
Can you cook?
Yes
BreakfastPorridge, scrambled eggs and toast
LunchToasted sandwich, or a ham and cheese sandwiches, or nuggets, and a salad, whatever the parents prefer
DinnerSpaghetti bolognaise, roast chicken, chops, veggies, stir fries.
SnackFruit, nuts or biscuits.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I enjoy making everything and love cooking.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?My parents are still married, I have a younger brother. We are a very close family. My dad is a quantity surveyor and my mom is an aftercare teacher.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.