Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Tamsyn

Personal Details

Reference # 201-38708
Name Tamsyn
Nationality South African
Age 25
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) Afrikaans (1st additional) isixhosa (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Hyundai i10 2012
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?June 2012

Education

Secondary Education
St Cyprians (Prefect head of grade 8's)
Tertiary Education

Busy completing a B Ed degree at Stellenbosch.

Completed first year -2013 - 2015

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2013, short term assistance
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?3 kids age 7, 13 and 15.
What were your duties?

I had full care of the children. I stayed at the home over the period. I cooked all of their meals, kept them entertained, made sure they bathed, and put them to bed. 

  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingOccasional babysitting
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?Two children, I only babysat for the 3 year old.
What were your duties?Babysitting, played games, providing medicine if required (when she was sick), feeding her etc.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingDecember 2013 House sitting
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?Looking after the dogs.
What were your duties?house sitting, caring for the pets etc.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2008 to Dec 2009
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?New born to 5 years old
What were your duties?Volunteering every Wednesday afternoon. Assisting with bathing, feeding, playing, what ever they needed assistance with.
  

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2012 - December 2012 (done through the school)
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?Boys and girls from Grade 1 to Grade 5.
What were your duties?We would assist with setting up classrooms, reading, assisting with doing art, or playing ball games outside, playing ingle angle. Etc.Every Thursday with the school.  I loved this role and thoroughly enjoyed assisting. 
  

Reference 6:

Period and reason for leavingNovember end to January end (au pairing)
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?Two children, female Mia 4 months old and female Arne 2 years old.
What were your duties?

Play with Arne in playroom. Mom would feed her and I would play a bit Mia, bath her, make her bottles and changes her nappies and get her ready for bed. And then when the mom would put Mia to bed then I would see to Arne, bath her as well and get her ready for bed so that her mom can do that. 

Basically helped the mom take the load off as 2 children of that age was a bit hectic for her.

  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs
False Bay
West Coast
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full time (au pairing)
Negotiable
Part time (babysitting)
Negotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?My sister had dyslexia, She went to pro ed, my cousin also has cerebral palsy, seeing them and growing up and being capable of doing the things other people can do inspired me to go into teaching which is why I am doing a B Ed. I really loved looking after my cousins growing up and thoroughly enjoy the company of children. 
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?I looked after infants when volunteering at Nazareth house in high school. We bathed them, and nursed them. 
What activities are you involved in?I do have a job every second weekend at Perky Pets. 
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I used to do a lot of horse riding. I also do occasional house sitting
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I like the little things they say, how they express themselves. I like that they are care fare, eager to try new things and really experience life.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I love swimming, playing with balls, baking cupcakes and having the children decorate them. Go for walks with the dog. Arts and crafts, play dough play.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would attend to the child, call an ambulance if necessary or take the child to the hospital and then call the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have never really had to deal with a difficult situation.
What is your approach to discipline? 

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would get down on their level and try to get them to express what is wrong or I would try to distract them.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would show them that they can draw on paper, or a chalk board. I have actually had to deal with this before and it got so bad that I suggested to the parents to create.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would set little goals, breaking the homework up, and having little rewards in between like going to play ball for 15 minutes after finishing 10 out of 20 questions, return and complete the rest.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?From toddlers to around age 12.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am honest, and energetic, I like to have fun, be around a lot of people. I am very social. I am reliable and happy. I'm a giving person, I spend a lot of time with children.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes.
BreakfastWaffles, or flap jacks or eggs and bacon
LunchSandwiches, or mac and cheese, or hamburgers, spaghetti bolognaise.
DinnerPastas, or perhaps a filo pastry with cheese on the bottom, buttternut on top, roast chicken, veggies, potatoes, stir fries.
SnackFruit pieces or nuts.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My and dad are still together and retired, my sister is 15 this year and also at St Cyp's. I have 2 dogs, Alice and Basil. We are a very close family.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.