Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Carynne

Personal Details

Reference # 201-38455
Name Carynne
Nationality South African
Age 27
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) Afrikaans (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)White Atos prime 2010
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2012

Education

Secondary Education
Muizenberg High School (2010)
Tertiary Education

BA Sport Science with Psychology - Stellenbosch - 2011-2013

BSc Sport Science Honours (Kinderkinetics) - Stellenbosch - 2015

First aid TrainingYes
Other Training

2012 - Sport and Fitness Massage Level 5

2012 - Hockey Coaching Level 1

2012 - Athletes Officiating Certificate

2013 SETA First Aid

2013 - Muscle Activation Course

2013 - PADI Scuba Diving Open Water

2014 - Body Conditioning

2014 - Power Plate

2014 - 24 Training

2014 - NIH Web‐based training course: “Protecting Human Research Participants”

2015 - ISAK 1

2015 - Baby Gym

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingDuring the holidays in 2010. I started studying full time in Stellenbosch.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Ages 4 months - 13 Both females and males.
What were your duties?Working Monday to Friday from 9 am to 5pm and over weekends. Playing with the kids and ensuring their safety at all times. Assisting the children doing projects, playing, running birthday parties, supervising, taking orders. changing diapers, cleaning the centre. It was a lot of fun despite being hard work I really enjoyed working with the children. Every child is unique.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2009-2010. I started studying full time in a different town and soon the family relocated to a different country.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?A boy aged 1 year and a girl aged 7.
What were your duties?Duties were to look after him and put him to sleep, as I usually babysat at night time.The daughter was only around when I babysat on weekends occasionally as she is from a different marriage.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving

Volunteer Work 2014 January – March 

Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Grade 3
What were your duties?Teaching Physical Education
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leaving


Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?
What were your duties?
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Part timeNegotiable
Full timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2010.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I became involved at my church as I looked after the babies during the service and later moved on to the preprimary age group. There I served as a Sunday school teacher. I also began babysitting my neighbors young son which I enjoyed.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?1 year
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I love art and music so I spend a lot of time drawing, painting and singing for fun. I love sports so I spend much of my time outdoors, at the beach etc. I do sport massage as well in my spare time as a self-employed job. I design exercise programs for private clients as well.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I enjoy the energy they have for life. I love that they love to play and explore the world around them. I enjoy their desire to always try something new and learn as much as they can. Being apart of a child´s life is so rewarding as you can help that child become the individual they strive to be. Providing with them with a safe base to explore the world and act as a guiding influence is so wonderful. Knowing that you have changed a child´s life, even in the slightest way is one of the most rewarding experiences. Seeing a child grow and progress too is an absolute delight that one cannot always experience elsewhere.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I love singing and dancing with them. Drawing and painting is wonderful. Playing games and sport is so important to me, especially for motor control development of the child. I enjoy reading stories as well.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would definitely call for help and inform the parents immediately and if there was something I could do to help that I know I was qualified to do in the situation, I would do it.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I think the most difficult situation I was in was having to play with and supervise a large group of kids with only one other person. That was a challenge but the best way I handled it was getting the kids to play games together. This allowed me to look after all of them in one area and each child was still able to get my individual attention when needed.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe discipline is crucial in a child´s life. It provides structure in the household as well as helps the child learn what is right but most importantly the responsibility that follows all their actions. I believe in providing discipline with love and allowing the child to feel loved and accepted at all times despite being disciplined. 

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would not pay too much attention to the child as the tantrum is done in order to gain attention and get their way. If after a while the child still does not calm down, I would approach the child at their level and talk to them about whatever the tantrum was about. Once the child is calm I would reassure the child that they are still loved,accepted and cared for.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would tell the child that drawing on the wall is not okay, their is paper to do all that on. And the child will be given a warning to indicate to them that it is undesired behaviour.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?In this case, a punishment could be put in place such as reducing the time he/she is allowed to watch tv, play video games, use electronic devices etc. Another way of approaching the situation, and a better way, is by providing a reward for the completion of homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Ages 4 years -8
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No I do not as I just graduated from full time studies.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a people´s person. I enjoy being around people and I enjoy working with people. I enjoy being outdoors and having a great laugh. I am very nurturing and loving and I love helping people in any way I can. I love doing creative things such as drawing and painting and doing crafty things. My passion is sport so I love playing games and creating games for kids and teenagers and playing and learning sports. I am friendly and enjoy meeting new people, making new friends and trying things Iv'e never done before. I enjoy a realistic challenge as well as I strive to be the best I can be.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal with a yoghurt and glass of juice.
LunchToasted sandwiches or rolls with ham, cheese and tomatoes.
Dinnerchicken schnitzels with potato wedges and vegetables with a green salad.
SnackFruits and a juice box. Rice cakes are a great snack as well
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Yes, if I have never made it before. But if there is a detailed recipe it needn't be a problem.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I come from a family of four. I have only one sibling, an older brother. We are very close as siblings and as a family as a whole. Family time is important to us therefore we spend a lot of time together doing many types of activities we all enjoy, whether indoors or outdoors. I do not have a large extended family but spending time with my extended family as well was always an important aspect of our lives, especially when we were younger. My brother is a musician and music teacher, my mother is a pre-primary teacher and my father is a retired pastor. Our family is very vibrant and we all love to have a good time together.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.