Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Blanche

Personal Details

Reference # 201-38045
Name Blanche
Nationality South African
Age 60
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English, afrikaans, xhosa, zulu

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2002 Lexus
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?1994

Education

Secondary Education
Cancele Senior Secondary(boarding school in the Eastern Cape)
Tertiary Education

BA (1992),

Hde(1993) 

BEd (1994) University of Western Cape

First aid TrainingYes, but requires renewal.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI started working at the school in 1994 and am still with them today.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?40 to 50 per class 13-18 both genders.
What were your duties?Teaching life orientation and history and I used to also teach biblical studies. I also assist at the soup kitchen as the co ordinator, I am also on the finance comity and a member of the HSBC committee,I am in a disciplinary committee and assist in resolving disputes.I also co ordinate net ball, athletics, basket ball and cricket.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2010- present
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?6 months to 5 years: old boys and girls.
What were your duties?I just help out occasionally around twice a week. I oversee all the children and staff. I assist in their care and insure everything runs smoothly.  I enjoy assisting with the creative projects, playing games with the children, and caring for the little ones. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since April 2004.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Since I am a teacher, my heart is always with children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?From 6 Months old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy reading and listening to music. I used to love running and jogging however now do a lot of walking. I am the life orientation teacher as well, so I do around 50% physical education. 
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I love to make exercise fun. For example playing ball to music. 
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Apply my first aid basic skills if no improvement inform parents as well as consulting professional help.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?One of the infants in one of the groups at the creche I was working at had been given a sweet possibly by one of the older children. I heard shouting for help. I arrived and performed the Heimlich man oeuvre on the child. She coughed up the sweet.  
What is your approach to discipline?I believe holistic approach which is restorative. I try to show that I am not angry with the child, but with their behavior, so that they can learn with love.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Find out the reason and try to come up with a solution.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Explain the importance of a clean environment.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Stick on ground rules explain the importance of doing homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?All groups
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes the Department of Education, Khanyisa
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?2 children aged 38yrs 32yrs 4 grandchildren 6 months, 6yrs, 11yrs, 17yrs.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Humbly, honest, trustworthy, disciplined.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastPorridge eggs
LunchSandwich, lettuce, tomato, sliced beef, mayonnaise
DinnerLight super which have protein, starch, veg fruit for example, steamed Chicken veggie, bean salad, or green salad, or fish, baked potato, etc.
SnackHealthy sandwiches
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I am uncomfortable cooking pork.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am unmarried and my parents have passed on. I have 2 children and 2 step children from my sister who passed away. Eldest daughter is 40 now (now a PA), my son is 35 (graphic designer), my sisters children were born in 1980 (working in a call centre) and the youngest 1989 (electrical engineering). We are the best of friends, I love my children, we are very close. My children can come to me at any time.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.