Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Tumeka

Personal Details

Reference # 201-3699
Name Tumeka
Nationality South African
Age 37
Gender Female
Marital Status Engaged
Languages English, Xhosa and Zulu

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Fiat Palio Vibe 2006
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2006

Education

Secondary Education

St James Roman Catholic School - 2001

Tertiary EducationStratford Career Institute Travel & Tourism August - 2008
First aid TrainingYes
Other trainingCPR

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingMay 2007 - May 2008 - Contract ended
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I cared for 1 child . 2 years old at the time.
What were your duties?I went to au pair for the family in New Zealand. I did cooking for him, taking him out for a walk, swimming, giving him a bath, reading books to him and I was responsible for all other child care related duties .I would prepare breakfast, lunch and dinner. He did not attend a day care and so I was responsible for him full time.
  

Reference 2:


Reference 3:


Reference 4:


Reference 5:


Reference 6:


Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula
False Bay
West Coast
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Growing up I loved playing as a teacher and I started caring for my younger brothers and sisters then I took a job in America as an Au-pair for 2 years. I love children very much this is my passion. 
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for is 5 months.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I love being on the internet, searching and reading news.
What are your interests?My Interest are being the best au-pair and have my own daycare.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Children don´t have a grudge, they always forgive and forget. They are very innocent.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Painting, singing, reading books and swimming, going for walks or playing soccer and fun activities or baking with the girls.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Apply my first Aid and calling ambulances or parents if they are reachable. 
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Michelle's little boy was supposed to go with his sister to the swimming section in St Fransisco, he just ran to the water but before anything bad could happen the life guards got hold of him. I then contacted Michelle to tell her what happened. 
What is your approach to discipline?When a child does not listen I put him for time-out in a corner. One minute per the age of the child. 

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?If the child is crying I would leave them to cry and just keep a close eye on them, when they have calmed down I will ask them what upset them and try to prevent it from happening the next time.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Explain to him that it is the wrong thing to do and then clean the wall together. 
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Explain how important it is to do a homework and promise to play with him after homework is done.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?6 months -12 years
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, I do not assist any of my previous employers.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I do not have any children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a very outgoing person who is passionate about life and children, i am a very hard worker and believe that there is nothing impossible in this world.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I can cook.
BreakfastBoiled eggs, oats and honey or yoghurt and fruit.
LunchSandwiches or hot dogs.
DinnerStew, rice, chicken and potatoes.
SnackDried fruit, fruit juice and biscuits.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I am fine cooking any types of foods.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My mother is a single parent with 5 children, I am the 1st born with 2 brothers and 2 sisters, My mother works for the Department of Education.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.