Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Sophia

Personal Details

Reference # 201-36422
Name Sophia
Nationality South African
Age 62
Gender Female
Marital Status Divorced
Languages Afrikaans (1st) English (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?No
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2005 Tata indica
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?1997

Education

Secondary Education
Kimberley - 1973, (I was married in Gr.10 and my husband was not happy to let me continue my education to Matric. I instead raised my children.)
First aid TrainingYes
Other Training

I completed a Educare course  including:

Module training in Educare (Practical and Theory)

Attended 2 Seminars in Baby Sense

Training in Adult and Infant Emergencies

HIV training 

Stress handling and communication workshop

Diabetes body lng workshop

Training to work with ceberbral paulsy children

Cross Motor development for 1 to 2 year old babies

Play to learn workshop

Baby development for 0 to 12 months

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingAu pair at the van der Merwe family. They only need a au pair for the afternoons from Januarie 2014.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Twin boys, 2 years old when i started.
What were your duties?My primary duty was to care for the twin boys, Francois and Daniel from 8.00-17.00 Mondays to Fridays. I would give them breakfast, and would engage them in educational games and activities, including all manner of arts and crafts, and alos regular physical activities. After lunch i would put them to bed for their afternoon nap, and after that we would again enjoy swinging, jumping on trampoline, kicking balls, or riding bicycles and have fun! I also assited with light household chores, and spoiled the family with a nice meal sometimes.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Stellenbosch
Winelands (Paarl)

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?20 years of professional childcare experience.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I worked at a Children's Home with children, after that at a Creche for 2 years, at Panorama Creche for 5 years, and then I enjoy the joy of looking after only 2 lovely boys!
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?I worked in the baby rooms at Kidz Academy Creche, and Kleine Panorama creche, so it was babies from 3 months and numerous prem infants. In a personal capacity, from birth.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy spending time with my children and their families! I love cooking delicious food!!
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?You can teach them so much, and I enjoy kids, love to laugh with them, they keep you young and alive!
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Educational programs, games and activities, arts and crafts. Physical activities like riding bicycles, playing with them with their toys, going to the park. Reading stories, doing fun concerts and dressing up!
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Ive got CPR training for children. Always have the emergency numbers in my head, and if I need to call the parents, I will do that.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A special needs child at Panorama Creche choked, and I helped her with the training I had.
What is your approach to discipline?Mom and dad and au pair must work together with rules and discipline methods, and work as a team with the methods you apply.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Time out works, and then afterwards you can talk about what happened, and why the child got time out.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I will explain why the child is not allowed to do it, and then the 5 year old can clean it, au pair can always help him /her if it was the first time.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?You can speak to the parents about rules, and they must also handle it with the 8 year old. Communication is very important, an 8 year old is old enough to understand why it is important to do homework, and then have fun.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I enjoy working with children aged from 0 to 5 year old's the most.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I currently work for 2 doctors. 
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?2 children. Both are married and in their 30´s.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a older au pair, but full of energy, got a lot of love to give to children, and I have a lot of experience with childcare. I am fun loving, love laughing, love cooking, and dancing! I enjoy life, and believe that communication is very important!
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal or Mielie pap or oats.
LunchFresh fruit, and a fun but healthy sandwich.
DinnerMy special pasta dish.
SnackHome make yogurt ice cream lollies.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I love cooking, don't mind cooking anything.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am divorced, but my children are both married and live close to me! Sophia is married to Godfrey Haskins, and Ferdie is married to Jessica. So I am very lucky, and now have 4 beautiful children! My son is a manager, my daughter work at as a receptionist at a private hospital. Ive got a twin sister, also in cape town, so I am surrounded by my family!

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.