Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Tamryn

Personal Details

Reference # 201-35070
Name Tamryn
Nationality South African but hold a British Passport
Age 39
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?No
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?No
If yes, do you have a vehicle?No
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?No
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)I used to walk to and from my teaching position but otherwise I do live 10 minutes from the Claremont train station so can take the train or taxis but within the southern suburbs lines.
Do you have seat belts all round?No
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license? 

Education

Secondary Education
Sans Souci Girls high school (1998)
Tertiary Education

  1. MEDICAL EDUCATION CENTER - May 2011
  2. AUBURN HOUSE TRAINING CENTRE- January 2002 – December 2003
  3. Montessori Early Childhood Teaching Course (Ages 3 – 6 years)
  4. FAIRHILLS ACADEMY OF BUSINESS TRAINING - January 1999 – December 1999  
  5. FRANK JOUBERT ART SCHOOL- Textile Design - 1994-1998
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI was employed as a Montessori Teacher in the mornings and aftercare teacher in the afternoons. I do have a recent letter of reference from the principle of the school. I was employed from May 2006 - May 2013 for 7 years in total. I chose to leave as I felt like a new challenge.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?My class consisted of 25 children of 3 to 6 years old and my aftercare group consisted of 15 children (18 months to 5 years old). 
What were your duties?Listed below are some of my responsibilities over the past 10 years of teaching: To create, plan and implement a curriculum covering themes, projects, cultures, festivals. To record developments and achievements. To be responsible for a key group of children. To see to the security and safety of children in the classroom. To see to the security and safety of children in the playground. To be aware of each child’s needs. To be aware of the children’s sleep patterns and assist where necessary. To be able to change nappies at regular time throughout the day. To prepare and supervise snack time. To be able to sing, read stories and run morning circle. To communicate daily with the parents on their child’s day. To always greet and approach parents maintaining an essential communication link with them. To clean and prepare the classroom for the next day. To promote the Montessori teaching method using the Montessori materials. To be responsible for opening up the school at the beginning of the day. To be responsible for locking up the school at the end of the day. To run a classroom with children between the ages of 3 to 5 years. To run an aftercare programme with children between the ages of 18 months to 5 years. To complete a Paediatric CPR and First Aid course every 2 years. I have also had experience on a casual basis tutoring children with special needs (Autism Spectrum Disorders).
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingDate: January 2003 – December 2003: Job Identity: Assistant Directness: I left to peruse a job teaching at Noddy's Nursery School in London England.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?25 children
What were your duties?I was assistant teacher to the Montessori Directress while completing my Montesssori teaching course.
  

Reference 3:

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2005 to April 2006. They could no longer afford the services due to divorce.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children age 3 and 5 years old and 6 months into the position, I started assisted with another 2 children age 4 and 2. 
What were your duties?I was employed to home school the children. I schooled them in the morning(all according to the Montessori method) and in the afternoon I would au pair and do aftercare activities with them. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula
False Bay
West Coast
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?10 years child care experience.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have been involved in child care both locally and internationally for the past 10 years and I absolutely love it and would not choose anything else. I am not married or have any children on my own so dedicate myself to my job 100%.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?18 months
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy hiking and walking in the forest.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I love being a teacher and seeing how the child in my care develop and grow everyday. As you will read in my letter of reference from the principle at the school where I have been for the past 7 years.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Art activities, fun activities, reading, writing, social games, classroom activities. At my previous job I thought the children in the morning but in the afternoon I had to do daily art activities with the children.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would remain clam. Secure the child and then phone the parent immediately and take the necessary actions to make sure the child is stable. Would not give any liquids in case the child has to have any kind of operation.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Over the past 10 years I have had many "tricky" children but never really a difficult situation but I have remained calm and got down to the child's level and explained things. One child got stung by a bee but I have completed a pediatric First Aid course and CPR training every 2 years so I knew what to do.
What is your approach to discipline?"Time out "approach and to explain to the child reason why he is in time out so that he understands consequence of his or her actions.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would ignore the child unless the child is endangering him or herself.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would remove the crayon and explain to the child that we do not draw on walls and give him or her paper but they would need to clean the wall with me!
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?perhaps he or she is struggling so I would help them, I and explain there will be consequences to not completing the homework, have only had experience with 2 - 6 year olds at present not 8 year olds!
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?2 - 6 year olds
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?None.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am happy and very dedicated to my chosen career and respectful of the people I work for. I am a little bit shy, yet happy, passionate and positive.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastOats
Lunchpeanut butter sandwich, or cheese and tomato, fruit and a dairy portion
DinnerPasta, with a protein, lasagne, chicken, etc.
SnackAt school I made snack for the children - toast or sandwiches pop corb fruit salad etc muffins with butternut and sweet potato.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My dad is in Johannesburg, and my mom is in Cape Town. I am a first generation South African. Both my parents are British. I have a younger brother aged 30. I am 33 but I am not married or have any children. I am single.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.