Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Marisa

Personal Details

Reference # 201-33796
Name Marisa
Nationality Suid-Afrikaner
Age 26
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans(1st) English (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Volkswagen polo 2002 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2010

Education

Secondary Education
Kwa-Zulu Natal, Vryheid Hoerskool - 2011
Tertiary Education
I am studying a BEd at Stellenbosch University (2nd year currently)
First aid TrainingNo

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI took a gap year after matric to insure that teaching was definitely what I wanted to study and thereafter went to study at Stellenbosch university. January 2012- December 2012.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?No more than 12 children at a time aged from 12 to 18 years of age.
What were your duties?I taught them netball and athletics.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingFrom November 2013 to December 2013. It was just a short term role during the holidays.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Aged from 1 to 6 years old, boys and girls an average of 8 children.
What were your duties?I had sole responsibility for them, I took them on outings, we played games, did art activities, painting and drawing. We played outside a lot. I particularly enjoy messy play. I learn what they had different personalities, and how to deal with each child as an individual. I learn that you need to approach children according to their personality.  
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs
False Bay
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am  

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2011.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?When I was in matric I took I took a church class on Sundays, then I took a gap and worked at a school as the netball and athletic coach during that year. Then I also recently I looked after children from 9h00 to 12h00 everyday. I am also studying for a teaching degree and love working with children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?1 years old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy being active. Sport is my favorite activity. I play netball for Maties and love to gym.  I enjoy going to visit my friends and family where we always try to make each visit a new adventure.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?The fact that I have an opportunity to make a difference in our young youth's lives, make me so happy. To give my love to the children will only show a positive effect on my life. Children are my passion and to teach them and to love them and to give them something to learn is a privilege for me.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy outdoor activities with children like bike riding around the block, going to the park, hide and seek and playing games. Also feel it's important to keep children busy with art activities, giving them the opportunity to use their imaginations and the ability to focus. It also improves some children's self-confidence because they observe that they are'' good 'at something. I'm not crazy about having to keep children occupied by the TV. To get them calm in the evening I will have a good story to read to them.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I will  calm the child down and make sure that everything is okay for the child. If the situation looks bad, I will immediately contact the parents and emergency services.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it? I don't really have a difficult situation that I couldn't handle.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe that if you have good communication with the children you will be automatically respected. When you are respected it so much easier to maintain discipline. When children respect you they will make stick to the rules and regulations, but only if you communicate with them in the right way. Before you start to look after a child you talk and understand their household rules and discipline system, so that your rules are similar to theirs so that the children do not become confused. I would take interest in each child's personality and in doing so I will have a better overview of how to handle the child. The children will know exactly what is expected of them when they are with me, they will know what my rules are. I will help them with their problem solving and learning to acquire skills that they also get to engage and take responsibility for the decisions they make and their performances. Physical punishment is totally unacceptable to me. I want to be respected so communication is more successful than when a child is preached too. I am strict and stick to my promises and rules. I find that being fair and sticking to what you say, children will immediately show more respect and listen to you . A Good relationship with the children  in my care is my desire. They need to know we can have fun and I froliks and I help wherever I can , but know I'm still the person in charge of their needs as required.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would stay calm and wait for them to soothe themselves or explain to him / her why they cannot do something or something may not be safe. I would maintain eye contact with the child that they can see I am in control and it also ensures that they then listen to me and understand me.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I will provide him/her with drawing material and explain that you do not write on walls. I will strictly but calmly explain and ensure that they do understand why people do not draw on walls and why it is wrong. I will then give the child another material perhaps a piece of paper or cardboard and stick it up for them to draw on, clarifying that they may draw on the paper, but not the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?First I will ask the child the reason he / she does not want to do their homework. I will make an agreement with them and think of a way they can mobilize an activity or treat on completion of the homework. It will not always be my suggestion because children can easily take advantage of that situation. I would rather explain that if they don't get it done the following day they will be in trouble with the teacher. Also a very successful way to motivate children to do what they don't always want to do, is to use star charts. If the child completes a specific obligation they get a star and so can you say if they have a certain number of  stars there will be a reward or some sort of compensation for them.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?2-18 years.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a happy-go-lucky girl. I love sports and like new challenges. When a new challenges comes my way I have to focus completely on that and give it my best to make it work and make it succeed. I'm loyal to people and when I disagree with someone's actions or decisions I address this with them directly. I am a people's person. I am the definition of an extrovert and love people around me but also enjoy my silent periods of time every now and then. I have my blonde moments but it is usually significant enough for only a laugh. I like a healthy lifestyle.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEggs (I believe an egg in the morning is good food for the brain and a good way to start the day), 'scrambled' or boiled egg. I will give children a simple breakfast porridge or muesli and yoghurt with cut up fruit.
LunchPerhaps a cheese and tomato snackwich.
Dinner1) Fish or chicken with mixed vegetables or fruit that the children love, with rice and sauce. 2) Pasta: with chicken pieces or mince and white sauce. 3) Sausage with crumbed pap and a salad....
Snackfruit or bread with their choice of toppings.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I can cook practically everything, except for complicated dishes like lamb shank.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.We are a family of 6, 4 kids and my parents. My Mom Judy is a teacher for primary school. She is a woman with ambition and a passion for life. She is very artistic and creative. A mother with whom I can talk as if she is one of my best friends. My Dad Willie: My father is an agricultural adviser to farmers in his community. My father is the funniest person. I always get on well with him. He is my best friend, my father and always makes time for me. He is everything a dad should be and more. I have three brothers and am equally fond of all three. Hulle is my hart se punt. Willie is 22 and works for a company in Middelburg.The other two are younger than I am.Leon is 17 and then the youngest brother  is Wium, and he is 14 years old. We are all very close and loving.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.