Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Precious

Personal Details

Reference # 201-32463
Name Precious
Nationality Zimbabwean
Age 38
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages Shona (1st), English(2nd), Xhosa (3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes , Code 10
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Nissan Almera 1.5 2009
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2009

Education

Secondary Education
O levels - Manicaland Province - 1998
Tertiary Education

Reception and Grooming - 6 months certificate - Community Based College - 2002

House Keeping - 6 weeks certificate - Fabulous Housekeepers - 2004

Au pair and First Aid - 6 months certificate - College of Cape Town - 2006.

Guesthouse Management - 3 months certificate - Univercity of Cape Town -2012

Night nursing - 6 months certificate - Mhlanga School of nursing - 2014

Practical nursing at Sarah Fox hospital, Nov 2014 (120 hours) with children 0-10.

First aid TrainingYes, expiring May 2018

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJuly 2014- current  (They want me to live out my passion to be a night nurse.)
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 Children, 9 (boy), 7, (girl), 4 (girl)
What were your duties?

Picking and dropping children to school,Taking children to sports,outings and play dates, Cooking, Housekeeping,Playing with children

  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2009-2012. Financial reasons.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children. the boy was 3 and the girl was newborn.
What were your duties? Taking the children to school and helping them with homework, Preparing meals and snacks for the children, Taking the children on outings to parks,playgroups and other activities, Playing with the children and keeping them safe.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
Constantia and Surrounds

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been au pairing since I was 18. (2005-2015)
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I love children and this lead to me doing various child care courses. I started with visits to Maitland Cottage and helped with the kiddies there while I was in school, I then babysat most evenings which led me to working with kids- It is just the greatest experience watching little ones develop and become these amazing people, knowing you are a part of what they become.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?New born baby, whilst also caring for a 3yr old boy as an au pair.
Are you capable of looking after twins?Yes I am. I have not done it before but I am confident that I can.
Have you ever bathed an infant before?Yes I have a lot of experience bathing infants.
Can you prepare meals for infants?Yes.
Are you capable of looking after more than one child under the age of two?Yes I am confident that I can. when i did my practical as a night nurse I had to look after more than one child intensively.
Have you ever had to sterilize bottles before?Yes.
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Building blocks. Learn different textures. Finger painting. Play with different shapes and objects.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?The most important is to keep the infant safe.
How do you handle a crying baby?Play a lullaby, sing to baby and cuddle them and give them Play a lullaby, sing to baby and cuddle them and give them love and security.love and security.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I take my dog on all sorts of outings to get him exploring different areas, gym, photography, and studying- I like to keep learning. I am also a great cook, have cooked for the whole family with every position i have had.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Being someone they can come to and rely on, a supportive and understanding person is so important for a child to have- and someone who can get down to their level and have fun while keeping them safe. i love to see them grow and develop.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I love going to all sorts of animal parks, and I am a huge horse lover and rider so love giving kids lessons- I also enjoy taking them to the beach to build sandcastles and just let loose and have fun time.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?It would depend on the emergency, so I would have to assess the situation and if medical care is needed rush to an emergency room if possible or call for help- and of course inform the parents immediately.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have never really had any traumatic or difficult situations that I haven´t been able to resolve fairly quickly and efficiently.
What is your approach to discipline?Every parent is different with how a child is disciplined- asking the parents would be the first step. Never ever hit a child no matter what! I don't punish a lot. I communicate with the child about what is right and wrong. I take away privileges.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?A two year old that is throwing a tantrum does not have the ability yet to understand reason- they can throw a tantrum for the tiniest of change. Time outs are usually good for them to calm down a bit, or positive reinforcement with a bottle or perhaps they need a nap. I will speak softly and kneel down to their level and look them in the eyes and tell them loving and firmly what they have done wrong.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Children that are five can be punished and they can understand their actions. I would take them aside and ask them why they did what they did, and then explain why it was not the right thing to do. Then help the child to clean the wall. I will  teach them to take responsibility for their actions.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?An 8 year old is a bit easier to contend with, as they understand how they can "manipulate" a situation to get their way and they test the waters. It is usually simple enough to say if homework is not done, a fun time cannot be had- no tv no games etc.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?All age groups. Love babies! My first choice is working with babies.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I still work in the afternoons for an amazing family, the kids are teenagers now. I am still working for the Murry family.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes,  Son born in 2005 and daughter born in 2012
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I would describe myself as creative and fun, caring and trustworthy, and most importantly reliable. I have lots of patience. i am an open and honest person.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastI usually make a full breakfast, or just a small omelette with avo, tomatoes and mushrooms
LunchFruit salad is always a light healthy option
DinnerLamb curry/ stew is my favourite to make with basmati rice
SnackFor children, cucumber carrots fruit, nuts and raisins or biltong
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am happily married, and have two children, my son is in 4th grade at Sacks and my daughter goes to Choo-Choo play school. We are a close family . I have half brothers and sisters and brothers and sisters in law. we are all very friendly with each other.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.