Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Kathlene

Personal Details

Reference # 201-32458
Name Kathlene
Nationality South African
Age 32
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English and Afrikaans fluently

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)1999 Opel Corsa
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happened 
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2009

Education

Have you completed matricYes
Where did you attend highschoolHoërskool Centurion, 2005
What was your passrate for Matric Average around 60 to 70%
Have you completed any other studies?If yes, what courses are you busy with or have you completed?Obtained a National 3 year Diploma in Public Relations in 2010 from Varsity College PTA. 
First aid TrainingNo

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingAugust 2010 -April 2013. I have gotten busy with a full time job. I also got really attached to these children who have been abandoned. It was very sad for me sometimes. 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?New born to 2 years old, I assisted in caring for from 1 to 7 children/ under 6 months.
What were your duties?I was assisting on a volunteer basis approximately every second weekend. When I got in we would bath the children, play with them, feed them, assist in getting them to bed, loving a cuddling, changing diapers, preparing formula, etc. It was lovely to assist these children, I really love working with infants, I found it hard not to get attached. 
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2009 until early in 2012. I was working quite far away from them. 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 kids, a girl around 2 years old and a boy age 4 years old.
What were your duties?Babysitting, bathing, changing diapers, preparing dinner, serving dinner, entertaining them, reading to them,  drawing with them, cuddling and putting them to bed. I got on very well with the parents, I enjoyed assisting them. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg Sandton
PRETORIA
Pretoria East

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am          

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full time 
Part timeR50 per hour

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have? Since 2010.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always loved children and have worked as a babysitter/ au pair and I have volunteered and looked after children from 7 days old to 5 years old. I grew up with a creche next door and volunteered throughout high school. I would like to use my spare time to save up some money by using the skills and love I have for children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Few days old - Abba House Baby Sanctuary.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I have a full time job as a New Business Administrator.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?Children are adorable, they are innocent and always do what you least expect. I have a special love for babies as I have a very mothering - nurturing side.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy doing things they don´t always do. Adventure exploring in the garden for instance, or treating them by making cupcakes together. I don´t like it when children are put in front of the TV to keep them busy.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?In Public Relations we handled "disaster/ crisis management" .. and I am a mature, experienced young woman. I would do what the first and most important thing is, example if a child falls in the pool, the first thing would be to take the young one out, then check to see if they are fine, call emergency services if I needed to, call the parents. As a grown up and an experienced babysitter I would think of the safest and most rational thing to do in that case.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Bee stings. Calmed them down, had them tell me the story and kept them busy and intrigued whilst I removed the sting and put some ointment on.
What is your approach to discipline?Dependant on the parents and their preferences.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Depends on the situation. off hand, I would go down to their level and ask them to please stop, and tell them what the reason is for my decision, and then propose an ultimatum and a compromise.I would handle the situation calmly, but so they are aware that I am the caregiver at that moment.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?These days walls can handle anything and it can be wiped off, if it was an innocent act I would ask them why they did it, and explain that it is wrong and tell them now we have to clean it. If it was because they were naughty and have been told not to do it before, I would propose cleaning it and a light punishment such as the naughty corner or no colouring in, something simple but effective. I feel if it wasn´t done on purpose and with malice, the child was just being creative. He didn´t know of better.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would sit them down and explain why we need to do it. if still no compliance I will tell him/ her that the teacher is going to be disappointed and upset etc. and then also try show him/her how much fun the homework actually is.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any from 1 month old
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Friendly/ Extrovert/ mature/ Determined/ Ambitious/ Driven/ Loving/ Nurturing/ Warm.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
Breakfast scrambled egg, yoghurt,
Lunch Fish fingers, cucumbers, pasta
Dinner Pasta, Mac and cheese, roast chicken, rice potatoes, mince, stir fry, anything really. I enjoy cooking.
Snack Raisens, fruit, or veggies
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Kidney, liver, potato salad
Please tell us a bit more about your family?My younger sister just finished studying PR, and is going to au pair shortly overseas. My parents are divorced. I live with my dad. 

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.