Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Julia

Personal Details

Reference # 201-32235
Name Julia
Nationality South African
Age 28
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans(2nd)(can communicate well in Afrikaans)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Ford Fiesta, 2006 Model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2009

Education

Secondary Education
Principia College(Oudtshoorn)-2009
Tertiary Education

Stellenbosch University: BA Humanities(2010 - 2012)  

Stellenbosch - Post Graduate Certificate in Teaching -2013

First aid TrainingYes I am a level 3 First Aider

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2008 - 2012. Moved to Stellenbosch University but still helped out in holidays etc.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Gabby: Female, 10 years old Mathew: Male, 7 years old
What were your duties?Helping with homework, playing with children, putting to bed, cooking for children etc.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingStill Current. Look after her son Luke, every December holiday for approx. 4 weeks, daily.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Luke: Male: 6 years old
What were your duties?Playing with, putting to bed, entertaining, taking on outings, swimming with, going to the beach with and cooking for.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving2009-2012
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Daniel: 2 years old ; Levi:6 months old
What were your duties?I would babysit for them occasionally.Feeding, giving bottles, changing diapers.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Stellenbosch
PLETTENBERGBAY

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am  

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full time
Negotiable
Part time Negotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Six years. I started babysitting at age 16, and have continued to do so since. I am currently in fourth year at Stellenbosch University. I am completing a Post Graduate Certificate in Teaching (2013)
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?My mother is a pre-school teacher and I would often go visit and play with the children. From there, I was asked to babysit and look after the parents children. I am interested in au pairing and babysitting as I love children, which is evident in my decision to choose teaching as a career and it is therefore a great way to earn practical and valuable experience.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?6 Months
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?No other jobs. In my spare time I like to exercise, studying, cooking, see friends and watching series.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?The way they make you feel. I have often interacted with children and they have made me feel so much better than I had earlier in the day. There is also so much one can learn from children and love being surrounded by them.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Playing, reading to them, swimming with them, helping with homework, bathing them and putting them to bed.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depending on the emergency, I would first see what I can do to help solve the situation. If it is out of my depths I will try and source help where it be neighbors, friends etc or phoning the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?To be honest, I have not had a situation which I would label difficult, besides the odd bad behavior. I´d like to think this is because I see myself as able to work exceptionally well with children. When children don´t listen, I've taken a "grown - up" approach by explaining to them the consequences of their actions.
What is your approach to discipline?In the past, I´ve taken a "grown - up" approach to discipline, by explaining to them the consequences of their actions. Of course, approaches need to be varied according to the age of the children.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would come into eye - level with the child and explain my reason for saying: "no." Next, I will distract the child from what he or she is throwing a tantrum about by making him or her aware of another activity etc.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I will reprimand the five year old sternly and ask if he thinks this is acceptable behaviour. Once discussed with the parents, and if it is okay - I will give the child 5 minutes of time out.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I will make homework fun so that the child will want to do it, and use tactics that match the child´s personality. For example, if the child is competitive I will turn homework into a game of sorts etc.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?All ages but I prefer 2 years old and up as I don't like working with diapers.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes. Debby Simpson Little I work for every December holiday where I take care of her son, Luke.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a very positive, caring and well - mannered individual, currently studying my Post Graduate Certificate in Education. I have worked with all ages of children for about 6 years now and I honestly love it. I am focused, motivated and a go - getter, as seen when I graduated with a Triple Major last year in my BA Humanities degree. I am also very honest and value the relationships I have with my friends and family.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScrambled Eggs on Toast
LunchTuna Salad
DinnerChicken breast(s) with spinach and potatoes, pumpkin, roast vegetables etc.
SnackCut up fruit and Veg, fish fingers etc.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I don't mind cooking it. But I wouldn't like to eat any pork, bacon or ham products.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My family and I are very close. We come from a small communal town where my dad is a well - respected farmer and member of the community. My mother is a teacher at the local pre - school. I have two older sisters (24 and 26) who both reside and work in Cape Town.My one sister Montessori teacher and the other is in marketing.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.