Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Michelle

Personal Details

Reference # 201-31978
Name Michelle
Nationality South African
Age 26
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English, Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Corolla 2000
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2011

Education

Secondary  Education
Paarl Valley High School
Tertiary Education
Infant Specialized Course-2012
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2013 to current.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 child, Male Jack, 2 (2months) years old
What were your duties?Babysitting: making bottles, changing nappies, feeding (lunch, supper), bathing and dressing, entertaining and also taking him to the beach.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingApril 2012 - March 2013 I left because my contract ended.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children: Male 3 months Brendan and Male 3 years Atlee When I left they were 1.3 months and 3 years old
What were your duties?I basically did everything for the kids. I lived in as well. A basic day would consist of making the kids dressed the older boy would go to school. I then be with younger bot all day, so I have to keep him entertained. I make them lunch and try and get them to play outside. At night I bath them, put them to bed and read them stories.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving

March 2010 - August 2011

Now: April to current

I left because I went to do au pairing in America.

Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?

2 children: Libby, female, 6 months old. Arian, male 3 years old

Now: Libby 3 years old and Arian 7 years old.

What were your duties?My duties were to keep them occupied and stimulated (entertaining), ensuring that they get a meal/ snack, that they are bathed and put to bed.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leaving

April 2007 - November 2011

I left because I went to do au pairing in America.

Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?4 children: Female Sarah 1.5 years old, Male Seth 2.5 years old, Male Nathan 5 years old and a newborn (he was born just before I left)
What were your duties?My duties were everything from changing nappies, preparing bottles, keeping the kids entertained, giving them the food that was prepared, playing with them (playing outside, playing indoors, reading them stories etc). In the evening I would bath them and put them to bed
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
False Bay
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?7 years in total
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I feel I was born with it. And it stems from my church as I would always be holding babies etc. I also helped my sister in her daycare.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Newborn (0 months old)
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Photography, Exploring places, traveling, I like exercising, cooking, watching movies, researching things, editing pictures etc at home
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Having the ability to make them happy.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Taking them outside, playing with balls, taking them to the park, beach etc I enjoy reading kids stories, building things, making things etc.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Assess the situation, making sure the child/ ren are safe, get the child to the hospital/ ambulance if needed, and call the parents. Keep the other children safe who are not harmed, keep them calm, don´t neglect the other children. Make sure to listen to doctor´s orders and give medication regularly. Assess the child after the incident.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Nothing bad has happened to me before. Usually I see what happens before hand and I try to prevent it. I think the most difficult would be when 2 siblings were fighting. I pulled them apart, spoke to them individually and informed them that what they were doing is wrong, asked them to apologize to one another.
What is your approach to discipline?Discuss the problem with the child. Explain to them what they did wrong, explain why it is not okay to do something wrong, discuss with them how to stop doing the wrong thing. Explain that you will help them with the problem.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Stay calm and try not getting mad at them. As them what is wrong. Explain if they don´t stop the tantrum that they will go to the time-out chair. If they don´t go to time-out then take them there. Come down to their level and explain to them that they need to sit and think about what they did wrong. Check on the child and if they are calmed take them out of time-out. Give them a hug and kiss after to let them know you still love them.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Ask them what they are doing. Explain to them that what they are doing is wrong. Ask them to hand you the crayon. Also explain that if they do that again there will be consequences.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would explain to them that schoolwork is important and give them a treat after. This is to motivate them after.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?0 months - 5 year old. But comfortable with older as well.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes I do, Yolandi De Leeuw Den Bouter  and Sue van Shina. I do babysitting for both clients.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Energetic, positive outlook on the world, love challenges, passion for photography, love the ocean, very sociable, generally a peoples person as I tend to get along with most people. I also love the outdoors.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastOmelette, scrambled eggs, muffins/scones, mealie pap, cereal
LunchStir fried veggies, baked potatoes, meal with protein, veggies and a starch
DinnerLasagne with salad, sweet and sour with noodles, salad with cramb sticks
SnackCut up fruit, frozen grapes
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.Parents married, Mom, Debbie she teaches computer literacy and dad, Marten he is an estate agent. They are happily married. I have one sister, Danelle 17 years old and in matric. We get along really well. We share a lot of things together. We are a church going family and we like going to wine farms as a family. We have one dog and his name is Milo and one cat and her name is Mila.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.