Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Jani

Personal Details

Reference # 201-31770
Name Jani
Nationality South African
Age 30
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, Last year maybe October/November.
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Hyundai Getz, 2006
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2007

Education

Secondary Education
Queenstown Girls High School - 2007
Tertiary Education

Rhodes University-BCom- 2010.

Capsicum Culinary Studio - Pastry Diploma -2011 (6 month course)

First aid TrainingNo

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2005-2007
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?

Female, Courtney: When I started she was 2 years old. When I left she was 4 years old.

I would babysit occasionally when I went to varsity. She had a baby boy, Jed at the time, he was 1 - 2 years old.

What were your duties?I fed, entertained and bathed them.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg South
Johannesburg West

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?2 years
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?At high school I looked after children(babysitting), my mom is a midwife and her patients contacted me.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Newborn  (3 months old)
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am currently a Pastry chef (The French Oven). I enjoy baking and going for walks, being outside.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I enjoy looking after the children, preparing their meals and being outside and active with them.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Playing outside in a park and building puzzles, going to the beach. I like doing outside activities with kids.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would establish the child´s condition and to the best of my ability assist them or take them to the emergency room and contact the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?One of the families that visited our house had a 3 year old. He feel in our pool and could not swim. I jumped in and got him out. But I am lucky enough not to have encountered many difficult situation.
What is your approach to discipline?Depending on the parents approach, but I know that routine is important and children must understand that there are limits. I would speak to a child in a stern manner if it was needed as sometimes you need to let the child know that what they are doing is wrong. I don't believe in spanking another person's child. Discipline is very subjective.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I believe that you can reason with the child. Tell them that there are options and if they continue the tantrum then they cannot simply get what they want. I would not ignore them but be proactive about it. And try to explain things to them
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would give them paper and tell them they can only draw on paper because the wall police don´t let children eat dessert. I don´t believe in bribery but I think there is a place to let a child´s imagination assist with discipline.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would find a way to make homework interesting, for example every 15 minutes of homework can allow them 5 minutes of something they want to do.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Infancy and older (I am comfortable with all ages).
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am responsible, hard working and dedicated to whatever I put my mind to. I enjoy baking and being in the kitchen which I think is also fun for children. I am not a walk over but not strict. I like routine. But I am also ambitious and like to think of myself as a happy and positive person.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal, Egg and toast/ banana pancakes (healthy meal)
LunchVegetables and a meat (chicken or mince,etc.), chicken strips, vegetables.
DinnerHome made fish sticks and mashed potatoes, vegetables and a protein.
SnackSavory muffins, fruit or yogurt.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My mom, Lisa is a private midwife and my dad, Don is an entrepreneur in a small town in the Eastern Cape. They run PJ Glass in Queenstown. I have 2 siblings a sister, Donna 31 years she is married with 2 kids. And a middle sister, Nicola 29 years old, she is also married.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.