Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Tessa

Personal Details

Reference # 201-31426
Name Tessa
Nationality South African
Age 31
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans (1st) English (1st) Dutch (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, Beginning April.
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Mazda sedan 323 year 2014
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2007

Education

Secondary Education
Paarl Gymnasium, 2006.
Tertiary Education

I did 10 years Ballet training.

Qualified Associate Modern Dance Teacher.

I continued with Modern classes after 16 years old. Qualified when 21 years old. I taught as a qualified modern dance teacher from middle 2009 - middle 2010.

1 year of Fashion Design at the Royal Academy of Art The Hague in The Netherlands, Sept - June 2011.

1 year of Graphic Design also at the Royal Academy of Art The Hague in The Netherlands Sept - June 2012.

I am just back from Europe and waiting for the new study year to begin in January 2014 to complete my Graphic Design study.

First Aid TrainingYes, expires November 2017.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI wanted to see a bit of Europe and experience something new. I lived with my family for one year,March 2010 - March 2011. We got along perfectly and I was sad to leave them, but happy to start studying there again. We saw each other a lot while I was there over the three years.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?

AU PAIRING (March 2010 - March 2011): When started, Girl was 3 months old till 18 months. 

BABYSITTING (2011 - beginning 2013): I would babysit for them while I was studying on and off when they needed my help. Usually it would be for a few days at a time or a week. She also fell pregnant during that time and then I cared for their Girl, 18 months old and newborn Boy, 2 months old. When I left the girl was 2 years old and boy was 11 months old (just under a year).

What were your duties?Everything that involves full time caring for babies and children. I also clean and wash their clothes; rooms and the kitchen when I used it.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
False Bay
West Coast
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been involved in professional childcare since 2007.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?

In 2010 I wanted to go for a working holiday and since I think I have a natural way with children I took my chances and went to The Netherlands. I think it is a great way of earning some extra money, especially if you are looking to broaden your horizons by doing it overseas. I feel very comfortable with children and it is very rewarding.

I may even decide to do child psychology after my design course as I find it very interesting. I would like to do something that involves children in my future.

What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?0 months
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Freelance work such as art and designing. I love socializing and being in the outdoors. I have a good and healthy balanced life. (I love healthy cooking!)
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?Learning from them, their honesty and loyalty and the chance to be a teacher to them, which involves the care and loving part.'When you have a good relationship with them it can be rewarding, children are also a direct mirror of who you are, and you can learn from them as well.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Which ever suites the age, gender and style of the child. Outside and/or creative are my favorites.Boys: outside activities like 'hide and seek', active activities. Girls: drawing, building blocks, baking. But it depends on the child's age as play activities are dependent on that as well
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?

I first see to it that the child/ children are not left alone while in a panic state and then secondly get the necessary help and contact the parents!!

Important not to leave the child alone with the problem, injury etc as they may panic. 

What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A baby was chocking because of being sick with bronchitis. I was calm and did the necessary method to help babies in this position.
What is your approach to discipline?Reasonable thinking and making sure the child understands what and why you are taking disciplinary action. These differ from age and are to be cleared by the parents beforehand.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?As discussed with the parents. Two year old´s are hard to deal with because this is a confusing time between learning to talk and understand. Every child is different and have different needs. Have to explain to them what they are doing is wrong.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Depending on if it was the first time or not, explain that we do not allow it and decide on action with the parents. There are lots of ways, like time out etc.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Find out what is bothering the child and make reasonable arrangements for you and the child. Timed breaks for example and working together. (Roll switching works well. ) Find out what the problem is and work with them so they are not alone.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any age group, I prefer younger than older.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, because of distance.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?

Creative (knit, creative in the home,bead making etc), Sensitive, Talkative, Energetic, Spontaneous and Loving. I love spending time with friends like going for coffee etc.

I like staying positive and I am hardly sick as I try to keep active and keep a positive mindset.

Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
Breakfastdepending on age: cereal/cooked oats/ toast with egg, and a glass of water, tea or juice.
Lunchdepending on age: healthy sandwich with fresh ingredients/ some fish or egg and light vegetables or a chicken salad. juice, water or tea for drinks.
Dinnerdepending on age: warm cooked meal with vegetables, carbohydrates and protein or filling protein rich salad.
Snackfruit, yogurt, small sandwich. Something with little sugar
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.

We are a big family.

Mother(Martia) works for winery and Father (Noel) he has own business (supplies cleaning chemicals for big companies) are divorced. All four children live happily with Mother and Boyfriend.

Brothers: oldest brother Emile 24 years old. Twin brothers 17 years old Reuben and Mikael. 

Freely come and go to see Father. We have two dogs and live very pleasantly on a farm open and full of nature. We enjoy spending time together as well as apart, we all have our own hobbies and we share a interest for the creative things in life.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.