Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Nicola

Personal Details

Reference # 201-31217
Name Nicola
Nationality South-African
Age 26
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans, English

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, end February 2013.
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Corolla Sudan - 2000
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2011

Education

Secondary Education
Paarl Girls´ High
Tertiary Education
Second year - B-Ed Foundation Phase
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingThe creche burnt down so I could no longer  assist there.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? From 5 months - 14 years both male and  female
What were your duties?I just assisted as there was a teacher. I  would help to feed, bath, change  nappies, made bottles for the babies, played with the older kids outside and also helped them with homework.

 


 

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
False Bay
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I started helping my parents in the creche we had at home. I am currently studying Foundation Phase (R- Grade 3) and I am sure I have a passion for children.
 How many years of childcare experience do you currently have? From 2002 - 2008. Is about 5 years when I assisted in the creche.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?

Living life to the fullest. Climbing mountains, shopping, socializing, picnics.

Waitress over weekends at Aleit Group in Stellenbosch. We do functions such as weddings, birthdays etc. 

 What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?

5 months old. 

What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I love how children trust you with their life, and how they learn something new everyday. I love to see how they grow up and that practice makes them perfect. Making a difference in a child's life is important to me.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Playing outside games, like "on -on", and "vrot eier" etc.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Stay calm, keep him calm and lay the child down. Try and keep the child as calm and as comfortable as I can. Call ambulance immediately if necessary. And also will inform the parents of what happened.
What is your approach to discipline?To teach children the morals of life in a strict but loving way. Have respect towards them, then they will have respect towards you. I don't believe in giving a child everything that they want especially when they are throwing a tantrum. Communicate with the child and ask them what the problem is.
 What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A tantrum and also the rudeness of some children. That was hard for as they were not used to being disciplined by their parents

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Do not give him/her what she wants. Just pick him/her up and talk to them patiently. Ask them what the problem is in a calm loving way. If they are still throwing a tantrum I will put them in their room so they can calm down.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Take  them to the wall, ask if it was the right thing to do. Show him to draw on a piece of paper. Explain that they cannot draw on the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Talk to him/her patiently. Tel him/her what the consequences will be. Ask him 
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?6 - 14 years old. Not comfortable working with older kids.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Extrovert. An energetic, friendly and competent au pair with a calm attitude and a passion for children. Always smartly presented with excellent hygiene standards. Will do my best to take their interest at heart and look after them with all the love I have. I will never bring my problems to work and always make sure that I send out a positive vibe out to the children.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEggs, Muesli, Yogurt, Cereal
LunchSomething filling and packed with nutrients such as veggies, chicken, rice
DinnerSomething lite but filling such as soup and bread, Sandwiches, Pasta dishes
SnackFruit e.g. apple, banana or an energy bar
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I cannot make really fancy dishes but the normal home dishes yes.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.

Big loving family.

Two sisters: Marli 22 years old supervisor at Aleit Group and Rhode 18 year old studying nursing, and one brother (Christoss 16 years old in Gr. 10).

Father, Christo and mother, Marinda works and live for us. Not spoiled. Blessed with lots of love and understanding. Always there for support. Learns us to be the better person in every situation and to never look down on anyone. Christians. Lives on a farm, Father is a farmer, Mother is a quilter.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.