Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Lynne

Personal Details

Reference # 201-31067
Name Lynne
Nationality South African
Age 61
Gender Female
Marital Status Divorced
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes (2012)
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Corsa Light 2007
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?January 1976

Education

Secondary Education
Rustenburg High School -1975
First aid TrainingYes, Expired June 2017

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving02/01/2013-30/04/2013, 3 yr old going through difficult time, grandmother now looking after her. The family are no longer using Au pair services.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?4 months baby girl, 3 year old girl
What were your duties?Taking care of the two children full time. Feeding and bathing them. Prepare and cook for family. Take the 3 yr old to Pre-School and extra mural activities. Play and stimulate growth. Run errands. Tidy up childrens play area at end of day.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving01/05/2012 - 31/12/2012. Family relocated to remote area in the Cape and were not able to take me with.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?4 months old girl, 3 yr old boy
What were your duties?Taking care of two children. Infant had special care needs with a condition called Hyperglycemia and monitoring was vital. Administer her medication. Keeping a journal. Prepare her feeds(special diet) feed her. Take 3 yr old to pre-school and therapy. Prepare his lunch and feed. Play and stimulate infants growth. Involve 3 yr in play and activities to share play attention with both together. Bath and dress both children. Cook for the family. Run errands. Travel with family when needed.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving15 February 2014 up to Mid May 2015
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children, aged 7 and 9 years old. The family no longer required an au pair.
What were your duties?I was temporary employed as a live in Au Pair for a family with two children ages 7 and 9. My duties were to get the children to school and afternoon activities such as assisting/monitor of home work and taking them to sports, and cook for them. I was required to make sure that the children do well at school. Each child had their own special needs as they were in difference age groups . My duties included: Running errands for host mother during the mornings such as buying house hold groceries. Paying accounts etc and other required errands that are needed to be done and running of housekeeping. Preparing their school clothes for the following morning. My hours varied due to the host parents long working hours.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Pretoria North

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?5 years plus
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I got involved after getting retrenched with FNB and as I have a passion for children and fiulf their needs while parents are away at work.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?7 month old
Do you have any children of your own?
I have 2 children - first born in 1984 and second born in 1987
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy doing crafts, reading, paint, love the outdoors and nature. Have a full time Au Pair job at the moment.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?To see their progressive growth and knowing I am playing a part of that in stimulating their growth. It is so rewarding. Their acceptance of me. 
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Playing (including climbing, painting, building blocks puzzles, making things with used materials that are safe and available) reading,  baking (simple things like muffins or cookies). Finding their favorite place to visit (park etc.)
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Stay calm. Assess situation. Contact parent to explain situation. If home F/A or CPR can be administered within limits then attend. Contact the nearest emergency care unit upon instruction of parent.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Having to administer what is called a sugar monitor (insert a needle into baby´s leg - which is done on a weekly basis) for the first time. Took a deep breath - followed the instructions while maintaining calm with baby - and GOT IT RIGHT.
What is your approach to discipline?Depending on what method parents use to discipline I would explain calmly what the child did and that it was not acceptable behavior and make sure that the child understood what I said and explain the consequences. Forgive the child and tell the child I still care for him/her.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Remain calm. Assess why child is throwing tantrum(hungry,tired. Do not give in to tantrum. Be gentle - explain that I will listen when he has calmed down then once calmed discuss concerns. Show empathy without giving in. If he has to be moved to an area like his room for a time make sure that it is a safe place - will not get injured.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Call him/her to point out that it wrong and why it is not acceptable and instruct him with guidance to get it cleaned off the wall. Make sure that the child understands. Giving him pen and paper to draw on.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Stay calm and ask why he refuses - there might be an understanding problem - where you can be of assistance. But if just plain lazy then explain consequences of not doing his homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Comfortable with newborns babies up to 14.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I am not working with any of my previous clients but stay in contact with the family that relocated to the /cape. The three year old (now 4) contacts me - misses me.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes I was a stay at home mom. My children are 29 (daughter) and 26 (son) I only started to work again once the 2nd child started school.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a mature stable and reliable person. I love life and love to be creative. I am a hard worker and always prepared to go the extra mile. Firm but always prepared to listen. I am punctual. I view life with a open mind.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastPorridge or French toast
LunchA fruit salad, or small interesting mixed salad with cold meat or meat patty
DinnerChicken and choose veggies that will be colorful
SnackFresh fruit or sandwich
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Sea food
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am the second youngest of five children. I had a loving father and mother(sadly both have passed away). We grew up in the Pilansberg so nature and wild animals were our pleasant surroundings. My father was a magistrate and my mother was at home. Love and communication and spending wonderful family time was part of my growing up.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.