Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Paula

Personal Details

Reference # 201-31014
Name Paula
Nationality South African
Age 30
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans(1st) English(1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, March 2012.
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Renault Scenic 2006
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2008

Education

Secondary Education
DF Malan High School
Tertiary Education

BEngineering (Chemical) - Stellenbosch University -4 year degree -2017 (currently completing it in 4 months time)

First aid TrainingNo. (Only some lectures on it at Rhenish Girls' High School)

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingStart January 2012 - present Have not left.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?
150 girls aged 13-18 years old.

What were your duties?                                                                                                     

Only have to do one afternoon) (2 pm -6 pm and one evening (6 pm - 10 pm duty a week. Putting them to bed, making sure they are all accounted for, helping them with physical and emotional problems, locking up  everything (doors, windows etc) making sure   everyone is safe and happy.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving
2010 December to current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?  1 girl, 15 years old.
What were your duties? 
Tutoring only. I mainly tutor her maths,  add maths,science and  geology.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?2 years before working at Rhenish High School I also have 4 years additional tutoring experience with children of different ages 12 - 18 years old. 
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I naturally love children. Their ideas and thoughts are priceless. They add so much joy and value to life. You can learn a lot from children and vice verse. I am even thinking of moving over to teaching from my engineering course.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest is 3.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I like to sing/ play guitar and take walks in nature. I also like a mathematics quiz now and again. I also love animals.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?The value you can add to their life. Those little unexpected moments where a child always surprises you. This never happens in the adult world. I love the honesty of children.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Playing outside, doing homework, baking cake etc., doing artwork, going to the shop. I like doing activities that has to do with nature and the outdoors.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?

I have the numbers of all the ambulances in the surrounding are stored on my phone. Every emergency is different, so it appears on the specific situation. But, I am very level headed and a problem solver. I take responsibility and action when needed.

I would take the danger out the way and also in case of a serious emergency I would do CPR on the child and try stabilize the child.

I would call the parents after I have stabilized the child.

What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Giving a child who have been raped emotional support. I have also worked with suicidal children in hostel. And also children where the parents aren´t very involved in their life.
What is your approach to discipline?Always be respectful and kind, but firm.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I firstly keep calm. Communication with the child is also important. Helps you to find out what the problem is and why the child is having a tantrum. Throwing a tantrum with the two year old will just make the situation worse. I will then talk to the child in a calm voice to find out what is wrong. I would also bear in mind what the parents idea of discipline is, i.e put them in the naughty corner, not shouting at them, not spanking them etc.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Tell the child the difference between an educated and an uneducated person. And why they want to be an educated person. And link drawing on the wall to behavior the child thinks is bad. It depends if the parents allows the child to do it or not. I would ask the child to clean the wall if the parents were fine with that.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Make the homework fun by being creative. When they achieve good marks afterwards, that usually motivates them further.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?From 10 - 16 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I only work at Rhenish Girls´ High School Hostel and I am a private tutor for one child when the child needs help with any subject.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a compassionate and loving person. People of any age or culture get along with me very easily. I am responsible and I make people feel at home. I like animals and nature. I like going the extra for people.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScrambled eggs, french toast, bacon, omelette
LunchSandwich or wrap.
DinnerPasta, stir fry, pasta etc.
SnackSmoothie, fruit salad, sandwich, oatmeal cookies.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Advanced recipes like a souffle´ or weird meat recipes like afval.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.We are three daughters Older sister, Annika she is a financial manager at Coronation. Middle sister, Annemarie she is finishing up her last year of teaching. I am the youngest. We are a very close family. My parents, Paula and Andre raised us to be educated, loving and responsible. Parents are still happily married, we are a very loving family and we travel a lot.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.