Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Nicola

Personal Details

Reference # 201-30931
Name Nicola
Nationality South African
Age 30
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English(1st) and a little Afrikaans (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, February 2013.
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)VW Polo, 2010 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?Yes
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happenedHappened in 2010. It was on a small road, I didn't realize that there was stopped traffic, so had to break (i was only going 60km an hour) and just touched the other persons car. This however was in my old car. I now have a newer and safer car, and always stick to the speed limit. Was just pain damage not anything serious.
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2008

Education

secondary Education
Fairmont High School - 2008
Tertiary Education

Degree in Sport Science and

I did my Honours in Kinderkinetics.

I am currently doing my Masters in Kinderkinetics (Child-kinetics) at Stellenbosch University - 2015

I have also completed a Sports Massage course.

Completely my thesis, focus is on autism

First aid TrainingYes, Expired 2016

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI baby sat for her 2 daughters every now and then when her and her husband went away on holiday. I stopped babysitting for them when the children got older and could stay on their own.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 daughters, aged 11 and 13
What were your duties?Mainly weekends: I had to make supper, take the children on outings (aqurium, world of birds Houtbay, movies etc), stay over at night, feed the animals and enterertain the children.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI worked for this school over the holidays in September 2011. I volunteered, so that i could gain experience. i was a teachers assistant in one of the Afrikaans classes and i tutored a little girl who had autism. I left when the holidays finished. I also assisted in the aftercare class after school. About 2 - 3 weeks.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?In the Afrikaans class there were about 10 children and then I tutored 1 girl (boys and girls). grade 1-3 (6 - 9 years old)
What were your duties?I had to make sure the children did what they were suppose to do. I gave the children their lunches everyday as well as their medications and supplements with their lunch. I also had to teach some of the children how to use the toilet properly and also sang songs with them. With the little girl i tutored, i had to do educational (counting, puzzles etc) and play activities (paly dough, board games etc) with her.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingIts was a year long course and now for the year of 2012. I am doing my Honours Year currently.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?We would work with children from birth to about 13 years old, both girls and boys, We would work in groups of about 30 - 40 kids. We worked with kids one on one and also had a case study for the year where we would plan activities with the child and note the child'd improvement in the problem area.
What were your duties?I studied to be a kinderkinetisist. So we basically worked with children in either groups or one on one. We would have to plan activities involved in fitness and movement and help the kids improve on their weakness/problem areas. I had to complete 300 hours of practical owrk for the year which involved doing the above. We also delt with some of the clients, Carla Rae would allow me to deal with a few of her clients.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am      

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am      

Availability Questions


Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have about 3 years childcare experience. Since 2011.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always wanted to work with children. Before I did my Honors in Kinderkinetics last year, I wanted to gain experience, and now I have made working with children my career. I did work for family friends fir extra money and I liked it.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?babysitting: 9 years old As an honors student: 2 years old
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?

 

I have started a new job that I started recently, Colt Talent. I have been registered with them the last three weeks and I can decide when I want to work. 

I visit my friends and spend time with my family. I am an active person and love being outdoors. I am kindhearted, patient and easy going. I love to dance and play sports. Not doing any sports this, I did soccer and I ballet and modern dancing.

I like going away with my family on trips. 

What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I have always wanted to work with children, and my studies have led me into that path. Children have a way of making me smile and brightening up your day. The passion I have for children is indescribable. Whenever there is an opportunity to work with children, I am always the first one to volunteer to get involved, because I want every chance I can get to work with them. Children have a way of making you get over a bad day and helping you to forget the outside world.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?

I like to play fun games that incorporate movement and motor skill development.

Puzzles, board games, outside games like water balloons, hide and seek etc.

Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?

I have strict emergency protocol that I follow. I have the numbers of various emergency services that I can contact in case of an emergency. I would also get hold of the parents if an emergency does occur, or i could contact my parents who are always available if help is needed. 

I would call the parents after calling either emergency services or stabilizing the child.

What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle?At my first day at the SNAP School the kids inside class room were out of hand and I had to pin down one of the little girls( 5 years old). She bit me and after she was told not do that and was put in another room by the class room teacher.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe in strict, but fair discipline. Child should be diciplined and also using rewards for good behavior.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would try to calm the child down, by giving alternatives to the situation. Maybe play a fun game, doing something else to what is making the child upset. If the child still refuses, then i would have the child sit in a time out corner until they calmed down, then reward them for listening to me.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would let the child know that drawing on the wall is not the right thing to do. Then i would help the child wash the walls and make it fun, then i would create an alternative, by providing the child with paper to draw on and be creative. And we can put the artwork up on the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would ask the child if they needed help with the homework, because maybe they are struggling with the homework. Then i would tell the child, if they finished their homework, they would be rewarded with something that they enjoy doing.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?2 years and up.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a 23 year old blonde hair and green eyed girl. I am currently studying at Stellenbosch University, doing my Masters in Sport Science. Last year i did my honors in Kinderkinetics/ child-kinetics.As a Kinder kinetesist, we provide holistic therapy for children who may have learning difficulties and disabilities. Our focus is on gross and fine motor development. I am an active person and love being outdoors. I am kindhearted, patient and easy going. I love to dance and play sports.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastOats, berries and yogurt, eggs and bacon, cereal etc.
LunchA toasted sandwich with salad, hotdogs, burgers etc
DinnerAny type of Pasta, Chicken and vegetables, roast chicken, curries etc
SnackFruit, Provita, yogurt, nuts
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My family originates from Durban. My parents are divorced. My mom lives with her boyfriend in Durbanville and my dad is currently living in lakeside. My parents are both loving people who are accepting of anyone. They are warmhearted people who love life. My family are very active and we often take holidays together. I also have a 21 year old brother who has just finished studying.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.